AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
 Browse Blogs Start a Blog The Charts Adv. Search Need Help?
 

hockeyguitar99's Blog

 | Search Options
Memories Made In The Coldest Winter
Attn Jason/Staff: Hire Klatzke
03/31/09 at 09:45 PM by hockeyguitar99
I understand that I'm just a non-prestigious user who's only been around for a year and half, but I think I know at least a little about the users and writers on the site. Klatzke is the best user reviewer on the site, no contest, and he has been for a while. He is superior both in quality and quantity, the guys a fucking machine. Plus, think about it, how much easier would it be if you didn't have to sit and approve all of his user reviews? His writing is top notch, so why waste time?
Tags: Klatzke, reviews, hire the man!
15 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Two Tongues review: This one sucked to write.
02/02/09 at 09:21 PM by hockeyguitar99
Writing this review was painful, I was in love with this album after the first two weeks, then, after not listening for a day or two and picking it up again, the love affair was lost. All that was left was a disappointment.

http://www.highbeamreview.com/review.php?id=359.

Coming Soon: The Loved Ones, The Appleseed Cast, ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead, MC Lars, The Dark Romantics, My Dear Disco
Tags: Two Tongues, Review, highbeamreview
3 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Forgive Durden - Last Possible Call
11/15/08 at 04:49 PM by hockeyguitar99
So, I'm sitting at a table at the concert right now and Forgive Durden just played. They were great, and I'll be interviewing Thomas in a few hours, so, if there are any more questions that anyone wants asked, e-mail me at highbeambrad@gmail.com, I want to get the fans the answers that they want.
Tags: Forgive Durden, interview, highbeam review
1 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
It's been a good day.
11/14/08 at 09:50 PM by hockeyguitar99
Sure, it's a week after she said no, and sure, I still try to avoid her at all costs, and sure, I still freak out at the prospect of talking to her. When she said hi to me yesterday, I was left speechless, but somehow mumbled out a slightly less than coherent reply. But, to be honest, I'm doing great. I've almost let the entire thing go, and she seems to just pretend that nothing ever happened, which might be for the best. I also got the new Right Away, Great Captain! record in the mail today along with the new Johnny Foreigner and The Seabellies. I have yet to listen to them, but I have really great expectations for the first two, don't really know what to expect from the third. Overall, I may be doing better than I was before.
Tags: life, reviews, personal
3 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Danger Radio/NEEDTOBREATHE questionsD
11/13/08 at 07:06 PM by hockeyguitar99
I'll be interviewing Danger Radio & NEEDTOBREATHE soon. If you have any questions for either of these bands, leave them in the comments or e-mail me at highbeambrad@gmail.com. Please specify which band the questions are for.
Tags: Danger Radio, NEEDTOBREATHE, interview, highbeamreview
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Forgive Durden Interview
11/05/08 at 06:08 PM by hockeyguitar99
I'll be interviewing Thomas Dutton of Forgive Durden on Friday, leave any questions you want me to ask in the comments.
Tags: Forgive Durden, Interview, highbeamreview
4 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Request/inquiry to the staff
11/05/08 at 04:50 PM by hockeyguitar99
Coming soon will hopefully be, Mogwai, Fucked Up and a few other less notable things. (highbeam)
If anybody has noticed I haven't posted reviews here in a while, but I submitted three 10 days ago, and now I'm frustrated. I don't know what happened, but this site has seriously slowed down on their approvals, I don't know what's happened but, it's never taken this long before. This is as I said in the title, I'm wondering why it's taking so long, I'm not angry. Just frustrated.
Tags: reviews
2 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Forgive Durden Review
11/03/08 at 10:26 PM by hockeyguitar99
Is it too long? Yes
Does it make much sense? Probably not
Did I slave over it? Yes
Will you read it? Probably Not
Will you at least click the link? Hopefully.

Forgive Durden - Razia's Shadow
Tags: Forgive Durden, Highbeamreview, Razia's Shadow
3 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Review news.
11/02/08 at 10:38 PM by hockeyguitar99
Emery - While Broken Hearts Prevail
Kevin Devine - Another Bag Of Bones

Upcoming reviews include: Forgive Durden, Department Of Eagles, Dear and The Headlights
Tags: Emery, Kevin Devine, Highbeamreview, reviews, upcoming
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Interview is finally up!
10/28/08 at 08:57 PM by hockeyguitar99
So a little over a week after I actually did the interview, I took the time to sit down and finish transcribing it.

here it is: http://highbeamreview.com/interview.php?id=39

I'm going to keep this post free of my personal turmoil.
Tags: Kevin Devine, Interview, highbeamreview
1 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share | Music
Maybe it's just state of mind.
10/24/08 at 10:56 PM by hockeyguitar99
It's one in the morning on Saturday, I'm sitting at my computer with a large list of personal and professional things I'd like to get done this week.
  • Ask out Irina
  • Write Forgive Durden review
  • Write Person L review
  • Decide whether to Write Anthallo/The Love Willows Reviews
  • If yes, write those reviews
  • E-mail FD's manager and lock down interview
  • If interviews get's set up, start to prepare
  • Finish typing up Kevin Devine Interview
  • Do all of my homework
  • Think
Until the first one gets done, nothing besides the last one will. This situation is consuming my entire being. I have a lot of things to get done, but every time I try to put my focus on working, it turns into a secluded self-destructive thought session. I'm hoping that once I ask her out, the tortured thoughts will disappear and I'll be able to sit and think without putting my mental health on a platter for hungry dogs.

Even though it's been a shitty personal week, school and work wise it's all been pretty good. I've gotten some good stuff this week. As I get more acclimated with people and labels things will start to come easier, but the highbeam's small size makes some of these albums hard to get. In the last week though, I've gotten a few big releases through managers that I've worked with or new people. It's always exciting.

Hopefully that first paragraph will change into something positive and my personal world will be filled with happiness. At this point, I'm not even nervous anymore. I've thought about it so much that anything I would think of right before I asked would have already been over-analyzed to nothingness anyway. Razia's Shadow has really helped me this week. The storyline has given me something to think about and analyze besides my own life for a few hours, it's refreshing.
Tags: life, reviews. Forgive Durden, Person L, girls, list
2 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Razia's Shadow
10/22/08 at 09:49 PM by hockeyguitar99
I got the files to start my review today. After one listen, I immediately starting writing my review. This is going to be a daunting and epic task. I don't know if I'll be wrap my head around this album enough to spit out a coherent review on it. I wrote the introduction, which is three paragraphs and over 350 words. It's going to be ridiculously long, but hopefully people will still read it.
Tags: Forgive Durden, Thomas Dutton, Razia's Shadow, Highbeamreview, reviews
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share | Music
I love the mail.
10/22/08 at 06:07 PM by hockeyguitar99
I got two unexpected surprises today in the mail. The new Anathallo album as well as the new album by some band called The Love Willows. I've listened to the Anathallo album twice and it is truly fantastic. The Love Willows album is very reminiscent of the recent Hush Sound release. I like it, but can't see myself listening to it for more than a few weeks. We'll see, but lasting value is definitey that albums biggest problem. I also got the Person L album finally. I really like it, way different that TSL, but really, really good.
Tags: albums, review, highbeamreview
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share | Music
Interview with Kevin Devine
10/19/08 at 06:32 AM by hockeyguitar99
I'll be interviewing Kevin Devine later today, if you have any questions, leave them in the comments.
Tags: Kevin Devine, Interview, Highbeam review
6 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share | Mood | Music
Reviewing on AP.net
08/06/08 at 10:35 PM by hockeyguitar99
For those who don't know, I have been reviewing on this site for a few months now. Overall, the experience has been great, the staff here are fabulous; chris always offers great advice and linda handles all of the request better than anyone. While it started out rough I started to move forward and progress with my writing style. I'd encourage anyone here to do this sort of thing. Its not the easiest thing to do but it can be fun and it helps a lot with writing and stuff like that. Recently I have run into a problem with my reviews, not while I'm writing them, but after they are posted, this issue lies in the comment section. The problem is douche bags. The people that could care less about the album, but want to disect and destroy the hardwork that I put into my reviews. I admit that I'm not the best reviewer on this site, but atleast I'm trying. These people take time just to attempt to tear me down. They add nothing constructive or thought through. I can take critiscm if its intelligent and constructive. I don't see how it helps them to do this. I can only hope that people like this stay contained to my reviews and this type of user don't try to discourage other reviewers. It doesn't do me any damage, but I worry about those less secure then me, hopefully they realize how dumb they are and spend their time better, but it doesn't do any damage to me if they don't.
Tags: Review, ass holes, users
4 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
1 to 0 of 151 Entries
Last Updated: 09/14/11 (44,213 Views)
Blog Tools
Share This Blog  Share This Blog

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
PropertyOfZack
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate