AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
 Browse Blogs Start a Blog The Charts Adv. Search Need Help?
 

Ryan Gardner's Blog

 | Search Options
The World As We Know It
Latest Reviews
10/31/11 at 09:46 PM by Ryan Gardner
The Tower and The Fool - XIII

Currents - Currents EP

The Greater The Risk - Say What You Never Said EP

The Honesty - Find Comfort Here EP
Tags: reviews, review, the tower and the fool, currents, the greater the risk, the honesty
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Reviews: This Love, Falling In Reverse, Bayonet, and Last Call
07/27/11 at 11:44 PM by Ryan Gardner
This Love - At War
Falling In Reverse - The Drug In Me Is You
Bayonet - Bayonet EP
Last Call - Stay on the Outside EP
Tags: reviews, review, bayonet, falling in reverse, last call, this love
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Upcoming Reviews
07/20/11 at 08:05 AM by Ryan Gardner
Next week I'll have the following reviews up:
  • Falling In Reverse - The Drug In Me Is You - Ronnie Radke's-ex Escape The Fate-new record
  • This Love - At War - one of the best records of the year in the pop/rock genre
  • Bayonet - Bayonet EP - Buddy from Senses Fail hardcore side project. It kills
  • maybe a Vanessa Carlton review
Tags: review, reviews
1 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Reviews: Sweatshirt Weather and Hands On The Stereo
07/04/11 at 09:25 PM by Ryan Gardner
Check out my review for Sweatshirt Weather's latest EP, Getting By, right here.


For fans of Set Your Goals and Four Year Strong, be sure to check out my review of Hands On The Stereo's upcoming EP, Teamwork Makes The Dream Work, here.


Both will be available tomorrow, July 5th.
Tags: review, reviews, hands on the stereo, sweatshirt weather
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Reviews: Dance Gavin Dance and Aaron Gillespie
03/07/11 at 11:40 AM by Ryan Gardner
Check out my review for Dance Gavin Dance's upcoming Downtown Battle Mountain II here.

Also, check out my review for Aaron Gillespie's (The Almost, ex: Underoath) upcoming solo worship record, Anthem Song, here.


Both are available everywhere tomorrow, March 8th.
Tags: review, reviews, dance gavin dance, aaron gillespie
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Reviews: Gates and Farewell Continental
02/01/11 at 03:54 PM by Ryan Gardner
Recently reviewed Gates (ex: Lydia)'s debut EP, The Sun Will Rise and Lead Me Home. Think excellent instrumentation with Thrice-esque rock vocals. Check out the review here.

Also, reviewed Farewell Continental's EP #2 off Paper+Plastick Records. The band is fronted by Justin Pierre (of Motion City Soundtrack) mixed with female vocals. Check that one out here.
Tags: reviews, review, gates, farewell continental
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Reviews: The Graduate and Kids Icarus
01/30/11 at 07:06 PM by Ryan Gardner
Recently reviewed The Graduate's latest b-sides EP, Every Other Time and Kids Icarus' debut EP, Kids Icarus.

Check out the reviews and records.
Tags: review, reviews, the graduate, kids icarus
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Book Reviews: Slaughterhouse5, Of Mice and Men, and Huckleberry Finn
12/05/10 at 06:23 PM by Ryan Gardner
Kurt Vonnegut - Slaughterhouse-Five

After reading a ton of hype about this novel, I finally got around to reading it. I finished it in one night it was so good. Amusing yet a great moral read and anti-war sentiment. Lived up to the hype, hands down.

9.5/10


John Steinbeck - Of Mice and Men

As much as I love Steinbeck's East of Eden - arguably my favorite book ever - I had for some reason never read OM&M until today. Finishing it in just over an hour, I clearly could not put it down. From the heartbreaking poignancy built around Lennie to the inevitable destruction of all things beautiful, this brief novel is a truly beautiful read. Moving, captivating, emotional, there's no quesiton why Steinbeck is still regarded as one of the best American writers of all time.

10/10


Mark Twain - The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1884)

I read this book the past week for the first time since I was a child. As a huge fan of Twain when I grew up in MO, as I'm older now, I find his satirical nature to be incredibly meaningful. Through Huck Finn, Twain's continuous critiques and condemnations of society really stand out. His writing is superb, especially his spot on diction, and the novel was an overall funny yet highly intellectual read. Being one of my favorite authors, I will be purchasing his just released autobiography shortly and then (re)reading all of his other works. Great read.

8/10


If you'd like, please check out my new Book Review Thread
Tags: book reviews, books
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Latest Reviews/Thoughts
11/08/10 at 06:07 PM by Ryan Gardner
Posted a lot of reviews last week...

Blank Page Empire's debut record, Sinners, Thieves, and Beggars (RIYL: As Cities Burn/TREOS)

Scarlet Grey's Fancy Blood EP (RIYL: late AFI)

Commerce's The Things I Say Vs. The Things I Mean (RIYL: Death Cab For Cutie-esque music)

A Bullet For Pretty Boy's Revision:Revise, an unexpectedly decent heavy release.

Also...
  • New TREOS song, "Weightless Underwater" is simply fantastic.
  • Underoath's Disambiguation comes out tomorrow; I highly recommend picking it up.
  • I'm about to start House Of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski, so I can't wait to get into that and start reading more all together.
Tags: reviews, thoughts, blank page empire, commerce, scarlet grey, a bullet for pretty boy
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Upcoming Reviews
10/23/10 at 08:23 AM by Ryan Gardner
Tomorrow (Oct 24) my reviews for The Scenic's Bipolaroid (Victory Records) and Your Demise's The Kids We Used To Be (Viisible Noise/Rise) will be up.

Next week (Oct 31) my reviews for Tumbledown's Empty Bottle will be up as well as Like The Star's The Guidelines of Love & Lies.

I also just received A Bullet For Pretty Boy's upcoming record, Revision:Revise, off Razor And Tie/Artery Foundation. Although I'd never listened to the band before, the record isn't bad - solid heavy release. I'll have first impressions on it in a blog on here next week, as well.
Tags: upcoming reviews, scenic, your demise, tumbledown
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
1 to 0 of 195 Entries
Last Updated: 10/08/14 (105,578 Views)
Blog Tools
Share This Blog  Share This Blog

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
PropertyOfZack
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate