AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
 Browse Blogs Start a Blog The Charts Adv. Search Need Help?
 

hockeyguitar99's Blog

 | Search Options
Memories Made In The Coldest Winter
Attn Jason/Staff: Hire Klatzke
03/31/09 at 10:45 PM by hockeyguitar99
I understand that I'm just a non-prestigious user who's only been around for a year and half, but I think I know at least a little about the users and writers on the site. Klatzke is the best user reviewer on the site, no contest, and he has been for a while. He is superior both in quality and quantity, the guys a fucking machine. Plus, think about it, how much easier would it be if you didn't have to sit and approve all of his user reviews? His writing is top notch, so why waste time?
Tags: Klatzke, reviews, hire the man!
15 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
It's been a good day.
11/14/08 at 10:50 PM by hockeyguitar99
Sure, it's a week after she said no, and sure, I still try to avoid her at all costs, and sure, I still freak out at the prospect of talking to her. When she said hi to me yesterday, I was left speechless, but somehow mumbled out a slightly less than coherent reply. But, to be honest, I'm doing great. I've almost let the entire thing go, and she seems to just pretend that nothing ever happened, which might be for the best. I also got the new Right Away, Great Captain! record in the mail today along with the new Johnny Foreigner and The Seabellies. I have yet to listen to them, but I have really great expectations for the first two, don't really know what to expect from the third. Overall, I may be doing better than I was before.
Tags: life, reviews, personal
3 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Request/inquiry to the staff
11/05/08 at 05:50 PM by hockeyguitar99
Coming soon will hopefully be, Mogwai, Fucked Up and a few other less notable things. (highbeam)
If anybody has noticed I haven't posted reviews here in a while, but I submitted three 10 days ago, and now I'm frustrated. I don't know what happened, but this site has seriously slowed down on their approvals, I don't know what's happened but, it's never taken this long before. This is as I said in the title, I'm wondering why it's taking so long, I'm not angry. Just frustrated.
Tags: reviews
2 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Review news.
11/02/08 at 11:38 PM by hockeyguitar99
Emery - While Broken Hearts Prevail
Kevin Devine - Another Bag Of Bones

Upcoming reviews include: Forgive Durden, Department Of Eagles, Dear and The Headlights
Tags: Emery, Kevin Devine, Highbeamreview, reviews, upcoming
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Maybe it's just state of mind.
10/24/08 at 11:56 PM by hockeyguitar99
It's one in the morning on Saturday, I'm sitting at my computer with a large list of personal and professional things I'd like to get done this week.
  • Ask out Irina
  • Write Forgive Durden review
  • Write Person L review
  • Decide whether to Write Anthallo/The Love Willows Reviews
  • If yes, write those reviews
  • E-mail FD's manager and lock down interview
  • If interviews get's set up, start to prepare
  • Finish typing up Kevin Devine Interview
  • Do all of my homework
  • Think
Until the first one gets done, nothing besides the last one will. This situation is consuming my entire being. I have a lot of things to get done, but every time I try to put my focus on working, it turns into a secluded self-destructive thought session. I'm hoping that once I ask her out, the tortured thoughts will disappear and I'll be able to sit and think without putting my mental health on a platter for hungry dogs.

Even though it's been a shitty personal week, school and work wise it's all been pretty good. I've gotten some good stuff this week. As I get more acclimated with people and labels things will start to come easier, but the highbeam's small size makes some of these albums hard to get. In the last week though, I've gotten a few big releases through managers that I've worked with or new people. It's always exciting.

Hopefully that first paragraph will change into something positive and my personal world will be filled with happiness. At this point, I'm not even nervous anymore. I've thought about it so much that anything I would think of right before I asked would have already been over-analyzed to nothingness anyway. Razia's Shadow has really helped me this week. The storyline has given me something to think about and analyze besides my own life for a few hours, it's refreshing.
Tags: life, reviews. Forgive Durden, Person L, girls, list
2 Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share
Razia's Shadow
10/22/08 at 10:49 PM by hockeyguitar99
I got the files to start my review today. After one listen, I immediately starting writing my review. This is going to be a daunting and epic task. I don't know if I'll be wrap my head around this album enough to spit out a coherent review on it. I wrote the introduction, which is three paragraphs and over 350 words. It's going to be ridiculously long, but hopefully people will still read it.
Tags: Forgive Durden, Thomas Dutton, Razia's Shadow, Highbeamreview, reviews
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share | Music
reviewing - psh
07/05/08 at 07:59 AM by hockeyguitar99
Much to my surprise I actually made a lot of progress in my reviewing this week. Mostly because I forced my self against my will to listen to the albums. All I wanted to listen to was Alk3 and HTL. I did hear a decent album or two, but as soon as I was done I listened to all of Agony & Irony twice. Thats probably one f the catchiest records that will come out this year. Anyway, even though I've submitted like 5 reviews this past week I still have five or six to go, which kind of sucks. Well, now I've forced myself to listen to the paper rival record. It's alright, but I'd rather be listening to Alk3.
Tags: alk3. reviews, Hit The Lights, HTL, Alkaline Trio, Paper Rival
No Comments | Add a CommentPermalink | Share | Music
1 to 0 of 151 Entries
Last Updated: 09/14/11 (44,581 Views)
Blog Tools
Share This Blog  Share This Blog

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
AP.net Podcast on iTunes
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate