![]() |
|
Decaydance Records Website Hacked?
What is up with Decaydance Records' website? Who are Citizens for Our Betterment?
|
Awesome...
|
Poor Peter.
|
Weird
|
political?
|
Crazy, I just hope this isn't some crappy Decaydance viral marketing scheme.
|
awesome and kinda cool. pwned
|
it's kinda cool looking how you can see the bands and stuff
|
they were hacked..decaydence sent out a myspace bulletin saying so.
|
Viral marketing?
New Fall Out Boy record? |
Viral marketing. You can even tell by the tone of the news post.
|
Citizens For Our Betterment ads graffitied all over NY.
|
For Our Betterment
FOB Fall Out Boy???? |
Lame all around but the page looks sort of cool.
|
interesting
|
viral marketing no doubt
|
Quote:
exactly, and i love the thing about encouraging people to vote on nov. 4th. the majority of people who frequent decaydance.com is probably between the ages of 13 and 16. |
Yeah, Jason said something about the next FOB album coming out on election day.
|
The only google result for "citizens for our betterment" turns up this forum post. This viral marketing shit is getting really annoying.
|
what the hell were you doing looking at the decaydance website?
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Are there really things graffitied in New York? Obviously I'm a few thousand miles away from being able to confirm this personally. If there are and this is a FOB viral campaign, wouldn't Chicago make more sense?
|
I'm sorry, but that's fucking awesome. If you blur your eyes, those big blobs are pictures.
|
this is just like the stupid victory records deal awhile back with chris xavier and the site getting hacked. it's viral marketing, pure and simple.
|
now one would think... that if they were really "hacked" then they would be working full force to get it back to normal. but it doesnt appear to be that way. hmm.
|
this is definitely viral market, election day is a tuesday and we all know what happens on tuesdays
|
|
Quote:
Yes, it's called ASCII art. |
I smell Viral Marketing ;)
|
thats cool
|
before i went to the citizensforourbetterment.com, i thought they hacked it to save the world from pete wentz's horrible bands, except for four year strong and lifetime. that would be for our better ment.
|
Hm, this is weird.
|
Are the days of viral marketing over when everyone already suspects it before the story even has a chance to develop? Maybe it doesn't matter, but I do think it's interesting that people seem annoyed more than anything else. Maybe once the novelty wears off, viral marketing just feels like being lied to.
|
yeah, it's def something viral. all of those rectangles (if you blur your eyes) are the promo shots for all of the decaydance bands...
they are: TAI The Cab Cobra Starship Doug FOB Four Year Strong GCH Hush Sound Lifetime Panic Tyga |
Which rectangles?
And if all those bands are on the page, it might be a compilation CD or something. |
i think it's kinda cool
|
I would be amazed if a new Fall Out Boy CD was released that soon.
|
Quote:
Well i mean all of those things that look like nonsense.... and i doubt it's a compilation... i just think that it tells us that it's something done by decaydance and not a legit hack. |
Oh, I hadn't actually checked the main website. And I figure if it was a new FOB CD, why would all the different bands be there? Just speculation.
I'm not even really into these bands, I'm just interested in the marketing. |
wow way to be on top of things Decaydance IT people.
|
Betterment is a word?
|
They need some betterment. And the viral thing is annoying. Not cool.
|
Quote:
bet·ter·ment n. 1. An improvement over what has been the case: financial betterment. 2. Law An improvement beyond normal upkeep and repair that adds to the value of real property. |
Quote:
|
bahaha gay
smart but i feel bad for the people that believed that they really got hacked |
Quote:
You wouldn't think so, but Jason mentioning in his blog that he heard rumors about Fall Out Boy releasing a new album around election. Now with this showing up, it seems like a weird coincidence. |
it's marketing.
created by Sudjam. http://www.sudjam.com/ 208.81.236.106 is the IP of the website, which links back to Sudjam. http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d... rment&tld=com The site was registered August 7th, 2008. Netscape? LULZ. Sure fooled quite a few of you. |
and it's back to normal.
|
yeah, i saw a screenshot of decaydance's myspace bulletin about it.
they seemed totally unconcerned with the whole thing, besides just letting people know about it. so it totally makes sense that it's viral. |
hmm
|