AbsolutePunk.net

AbsolutePunk.net (http://www.absolutepunk.net/forum.php)
-  Interviews (http://www.absolutepunk.net/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
  -  Ilan Rubin (NIN, Lostprophets, The New Regime) - 12.16.08 (http://www.absolutepunk.net/showthread.php?t=745212)

Steve Henderson 12/16/08 09:37 PM

Ilan Rubin (NIN, Lostprophets, The New Regime) - 12.16.08

You are involved in quite a few projects right now – some winding down, some just ramping up. Can you talk about those?

I am indeed involved in a few projects at the moment. Although I just finished recording the tracks for the next lostprophets album, I'll be the new NIN drummer starting officially in January, I have a solo project where I write and record everything called The New Regime, and I play drums in a band called ...Students.

Some people on our site might be familiar with all of your rather illustrious history as a drummer from a very early age. For those that might not be, can you run them down?

I started playing drums around the age of 7 or 8. By age 9 I was already playing in a band called F.O.N. which included my two brothers. I played Woodstock at the age of 12 with F.O.N. I then joined Denver Harbor at about 14 with my brother Aaron. The band was made up of us two and Will and Chris Lewis from Fenix TX. We made an EP and and album called Scenic which was put out on Universal. We toured across the US multiple times with bands like Sugarcult, Flogging Molly, Home Grown, Spitalfield, Lit, Halifax, Sum 41, Unwritten Law and many more. When Denver Harbor got dropped, my brother Aaron got a call from Lostprophets seeing if I would be interested in playing with them. I've been doing Lostprophets up until last week. During the last year I wrote/recorded The New Regime album and played on the ...Students record which is Mike Frey from The Transit War's new solo project.

Which of your past projects was most influential to you as an artist?