oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh
Male - 26 Years Old
The way the rule is written, any catch by a WR must result in complete possession all the way through the ground. For example, Calvin Johnson clearly caught and possessed the ball on the original play, but, in falling to the ground, he got lazy and let the ball come loose. To anyone's eye, it was a TD, but not by the rule.
That "going to the ground" part gets negated when a player makes a "football" move, whether reaching over the plane, making a cut up field, deliberately dropping to the ground, etc. Then they aren't a receiver, they are a runner. So, if the ball came out on the way down, it'd be a fumble rather than an incomplete. And if the ground causes the bobble, it'd be a player being down and not a fumble.
In this case, he caught it and turned and reached, which made it a catch and a move, rather than just a fluid catch. The second he starts reaching, he becomes a runner. It's a TD the second he crosses the plane in that case, and the whole act of falling essentially doesn't happen
Thanks. That's a good explanation.