Username
Password

12:39 PM on 05/09/09 
User Info.
redsoxguy676
I think in decimals and dollars.
Emmaus, PA 610
Male - 25 Years Old
Now that the release candidate is out there for download, who thinks this operating system will out perform your expectations?

I for one downloaded it this morning, installed it and haven't been able to get off of it. It runs a lot faster and smoother than vista did as well.

Discuss.
12:47 PM on 05/09/09 
User Info.
redsoxguy676
Emmaus, PA 610
Male - 25 Years Old
I'm a moron with computers, but I don't really dig Vista all that much. Is there a way to install Windows 7 as your primary OS, and ditch Vista? I've never done any of that before, I don't really know how to "try it out" when it's a complete operating system.
Well, as for right now it's not the greatest idea to just ditch Vista. Since Windows 7 is only in the release candidate stage it still has a chance to be fixed and upgraded before it is shipped to the consumer. The easiest way to do this is to partition a small part of your hard drive so you can install Windows 7 without losing your Vista operating system. If you would like I can tell you the easiest way to go about doing this.
12:56 PM on 05/09/09 
User Info.
redsoxguy676
Emmaus, PA 610
Male - 25 Years Old
Yeah, if you would, that would be awesome. How small a part of the hard drive are we talking? When is W7 due for release?
Well my Gateway laptop I am using right now has a 160 GB hard drive in it, and I partitioned about 15 GB for Windows 7. So you don't need that much.

And various reports say W7 is due out by the end of summer. Acer and a few other companies have said they plan on shipping laptops and computers with windows 7 in the fall.
01:19 PM on 10/23/09 
User Info.
redsoxguy676
Emmaus, PA 610
Male - 25 Years Old
Pretty cool this thread is still going, and that it is front page worthy!
01:58 PM on 10/23/09 
User Info.
redsoxguy676
Emmaus, PA 610
Male - 25 Years Old