Password

Album Review

All That Remains - Overcome Album Cover

All That Remains - Overcome

Reviewed by
All That Remains - Overcome
Record Label: Prosthetic Records/Razor & Tie Records
Release Date: September 16, 2008
I'm relatively new to the metalcore scene. And is it was, this was one of my first ventures into the genre. Maybe a poor way to start out, but I instantly found Philip Labonte's voice to be simply mesmerizing, and Jason Costa's drumming to be awe-inspiring. The mixing of such metal vocals with harmonized singing done with such precision was beyond me. But, with the exception of that last sentence, I may have... overreacted.

Having just found these guys so bad-ass, I checked out their previous work. The Fall of Ideals at first listen didn't intrigue me, but after a while, it just started to grow and grow on me, and ironically enough, this album just started to disappoint and disappoint me. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the solos and Labonte's vocal wonder, but there's something that's just missing at the core of this album. For me, it was the over-production and sometimes overly pop-metal choruses.

"Before the Damned," the first track on the album is classic All That Remains in pure form with Labonte's harsh growl/scream mixed in with Ideals-like melodic singing. It's a great opening track that should give the listener just enough interest to continue with the album. All That Remains, however, throw a curve ball at you with "Two Weeks." No feasible scream (however a layered scream that is barely heard) is included. What is included is a poppy chorus that is, for all intents and purposes, pretty damn lame. The song is saved only by Oli Herbert's gut-wrenching guitar solo.