AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
Round-Up News
Hint: Have a news tip? Submit us news.
Round-Up
Inside AP.net

Australian Music Round-Up (11/27/10)

Posted by: Deborah Remus (11/27/10)
Head to the replies to read this week's Australian Music Round-Up.
 
Displaying posts 1 - 15 of 23
10:21 AM on 11/27/10
#2
Deborah Remus
Winnipegger
Offline
User Info.
Deborah Remus's Avatar
Thanks to Adam for putting this together.

Australian Music Round-UpNews

The Getaway Plan have returned after breaking up last year. After playing several shows this year, they have now officially announced their return, along with a new album next year and a February tour with two other fine Australian acts, Tonight Alive and Secrets In Scale.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds will be releasing a new album next year.

You can check out Australia’s 100 best albums here, apparently.

Melbourne rock band City Escape have broken up. They have one final Melbourne show. Jarrod (Vocals/Guitar) claims this is by no means the end of their musical careers together.

Aussie exports Closure In Moscow have quietly traded out Beau McKee and Brad Kimber for two new members. It seems there is no bad blood in the line-up change.

Cut Copy have announced their third album, Zonoscope, will be released February 4th through Modular Recordings. You can hear the first single, “Take Me Over”, here.

The Jezabels have just released the third and final instalment of their EP series, and are heading out on tour in November. Joining them will be Canadian act Two Hours Traffic. You can also watch their new video for “Mace Spray” here.

A Death In The Family have released this great video for their song, “Lion Hearted”, from the new EP, Origins.

Coerce have also released a video for one of their new tracks from the split with Robotosaurus. You can view the video for “Mogelmouth” here.

Built On Secrets have released a video for their song, “Lessons From Liars” here.

Philadelphia Grand Jury have replaced their second drummer in as many years. Their latest acquisition is I Heart Hiroshima’s Susie Dreamboat.

Here Come The Birds have made their EP and album available for free here.

Gold Coast metal band Helm have recently released their new album, Vol 2... The Winter March. You can catch them as they tour the country, and grab a copy of their stellar album.

Check out a new track from Brisbane band To The North on their MySpace. The band have released a new single, Indiscretion, which features the song of the same name along with a couple of new tracks and b-sides. “Indiscretion” will also be on their upcoming album, which they are currently working on.

Tonight Alive have posted a new song, “Five Years”, on their MySpace. The track is from their upcoming EP, Consider This. The band prepare to release a full length next year.

Jonathan Boulet will be touring this December in support of his new single, “You’re A Animal”. He is also working on a follow up to his debut album which was released last year.

Melbourne punks Anchors released their debut album, Bad Juju, on November 6. Check out this teaser trailer for the album.

Sydney band Evelyn have released a new song on their MySpace, which is also available for download from their bandcamp page.

Check out a new track by For Our Hero on their PureVolume. The track is from the band’s latest EP, Afterglow.

Melbourne pop punk band Apart From This have posted a new song on their MySpace.

The Duvtons have released their first of a series of digital singles on itunes. You can check out the song first on their MySpace.

Brisbane band Headaches will be releasing an EP through Arrest Records soon, containing three new tracks and some remixed and remastered versions of songs from their free demo.

You can watch a full set of Parkway Drive from the US Warped Tour here.

The Amity Affliction will release a collection of old material along with two b-sides from Youngbloods in the form of Glory Days. The release includes the self-titled and High Hopes EPs, along with early demos. It will be released on November 26 as the band begin a 100+ date world tour.

Safe Hands have posted a new track from their upcoming EP, Oh The Humanity. The new track, “Good Morning Vermin”, should have a lot of people excited about this release.

Confession are currently writing their new album. They intend to hit the studio early next year to record the follow up to their debut album, Cancer.

I Exist and Phantoms have recorded a 7” recently, which will see a January release. The two were on tour together earlier this year, and were inspired to name all the songs after Wet ‘n’ Wild rides. Check out Bad Romance early next year.

You can grab a copy of Caulfield’s debut, Clarity In A Sea Of Confusion from their webstore.

Check out two new tracks from Queensland metalcore band Grace Is Gone on their MySpace.

Australian Reviews

Tonight AliveAll Shapes & Disguises

Tour Updates

The Misfits tour has been cancelled.

Tours which have been announced recently:
No Trigger/Such Gold
(HED)p.e
The Getaway Plan/Tonight Alive/Secrets In Scale
La Dispute/To The North
Ben Jorgensen
DOOM
Sufjan Stevens
The Books
Custom Kings/Leena
Aloe Blacc/Wajeed/Benji B
Jonathan Boulet
Helm
Kyuss

Festival News

Belle & Sebastian have been added to Golden Plains.

Line-up changes for Soundwave have taken A Skylit Drive and Alesana off the tour, replacing them with Polar Bear Club, Blessthefall & This Town Needs Guns.

Check out timetables for No Sleep Til here.

Big Day Out’s final announcement sees the inclusion of The Vines, Sia, The Greenhornes, Washington, Matt & Kim, Black Milk & Anna Lunoe to round out the line-up. You can also check out some local acts, which are listed here for each city.

Future Music Festival has been announced. Performing will be The Chemical Brothers, Dizzee Rascal, Pendulum, MGMT, Mark Ronson & The Business Intl, Ke$Ha, The Presets, Leftfield, Art Vs Science, Richie Hawtin Pres. Plastikman, Steve Angello (Swedish House Mafia), Sven Vath, Sander Van Doorn, Steve Aoki, Loco Dice, Don Diablo, Etienne De Crecy, Zane Lowe, Cosmic Gate, The Subs, Sound Of Stereo, James Holroyd & many more. See details below.

Playground Weekender 2011 has been announced. Performing will be Doves, Kool & The Gang, De La Soul, Kate Nash, Caribou, Four Tet, Roy Ayers, Tunng, Hungry Kids Of Hungary, Toro Y Moi, Norman Jay MBE, Damian Lazarus, Tom Middleton, Belleruche, LTJ Bukem, DJ Heidi, Canyons, Danimals, King Tide, Roska, Clive Henry, Strange Talk & Meem. Details are below.

Just when you thought nothing better could happen this summer, Laneway takes the cake. !!!,
The Antlers, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Beach House, Bear In Heaven, Blonde Redhead, Cloud Control, Cut Copy, Deerhunter, Foals, Gotye, The Holidays, Holy Fuck, Jenny & Johnny, Warpaint, Les Savy Fav, Local Natives, Yeasayer, Menomena, Pvt, Rat Vs Possum (Excluding Perth), Stornoway, Two Door Cinema Club, Violent Soho & World’s End Press. Dates are below.

Peats Ridge Festival has seen another massive line-up announcement. Check it out here.

Big Day Out sideshows have been announced for:
Tool
M.I.A/Die Antwoord
Deftones
Lupe Fiasco
Primal Scream
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
Plan B
The Jim Jones Revue
CSS
Booka Shade
Andrew W.K.
Ratatat
Crystal Castles
Check here for details.

Soundwave sideshows have been announced for:
Iron Maiden
Pennywise/Millencolin
Devildriver/Ill Nino/All That Remains/Nonpoint
Rob Zombie/Murderdolls/Monster Magnet/Dommin
Bring Me The Horizon/The Amity Affliction/Asking Alexandria
Social Distortion/The Bronx
Social Distortion/The Gaslight Anthem
New Found Glory/Less Than Jake
The Bronx/Fucked Up
Anberlin/The Starting Line/Bayside
We The Kings/Never Shout Never/The Maine
Primus/Melvins
Gang Of Four
Check here for details.

Check other festival pages for details on the numerous sideshows.

New Tour Dates

Future Music Festival
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Saturday March 5, Doomben Racecourse [subject to approval]
Sunday March 6, (Labour Day Long Weekend), Arena Joondalup
Saturday March 12, Randwick Racecourse
Sunday March 13 (Labour Day Long Weekend), Flemington Racecourse
Monday March 14 (Adelaide Cup Long Weekend) Garden Of Unearthly Delights, Rundle and Rymill Park

Playground Weekender
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

17th – 20th February 2011 - Del Rio Resort at Wisemans Ferry

St Jerome’s Laneway Festival
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Monday 31st January 2011 – Aotea Square, Auckland
Friday 4th February 2011 – Alexandria St off St Paul’s Terrace, Brisbane
Saturday 5th February 2011 – Footscray Community Arts Centre, Melbourne
Sunday 6th February 2011 – Sydney College of the Arts, Sydney
Friday 11th February 2011 – Fowler’s Live, North Terrace, Adelaide
Saturday 12th February 2011 – Cultural Centre, Northbridge, Perth

No Trigger w/Such Gold
Wednesday January 26 – YAC, Byron Bay - AA
Thursday January 27 – Step Inn, Brisbane - 18
Friday January 28 – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle - 18
Saturday January 29 – Annandale Hotel (Blood, Sweat & Beers), Sydney - 18
Sunday January 30 – Annandale Hotel, Sydney - AA
Wednesday February 2 – Bar 32, Canberra - 18
Thursday February 3 – Stay Frosty (Grand Hotel), Wollongong - 18
Friday February 4 – Arthouse Hotel, Melbourne - 18
Saturday February 5 – Enigma Bar, Adelaide - 18
Sunday February 6 – Irene’s Warehouse, Melbourne – AA

(HED)p.e
Thursday 27 January - Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Friday 28 January – Hi-Fi Bar, Brisbane
Saturday 29 January - Manning Bar, Sydney
Sunday 30 January - Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle
Wednesday 2 February – Amplifier, Perth

The Getaway Plan w/Tonight Alive & Secrets In Scale
Tickets on sale December 16

Wednesday February 9 - Capitol, Perth - 18
Friday February 11 - The Metro, Sydney - Aa - Evening Show
Friday February 11 - The Metro, Sydney - 18
Saturday February 12 - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane - 18
Sunday February 13 - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane - U18 - Afternoon Show
Friday February 18 - Fowlers, Adelaide - Lic/Aa
Saturday February 19 - The Hi-Fi, Melbourne - U18 - Afternoon Show
Saturday February 19 - The Hi-Fi, Melbourne – 18

La Dispute w/To The North
Friday January 14 - The Annandale Hotel, Sydney - 18
Saturday January 15 - Beach Bar, Wollongong - 18
Sunday January 16 - The Red Rattler, Sydney - AA
Tuesday January 18 - Bar 32, Canberra - 18
Wednesday January 19 - Enigma Bar, Adelaide - 18
Thursday January 20 - The Arthouse Hotel, Melbourne - 18
Friday January 21 - Irene's Warehouse, Melbourne - AA
Saturday January 22 - The Bakery, Perth - 18
Sunday January 23 - HQ, Perth - AA
Tuesday January 25 - The Zoo, Brisbane - 18
Wednesday January 26 - Burst City, Brisbane - AA

Ben Jorgensen
Friday January 14th –Enigma Bar, Adelaide - 18
Saturday January 15th – The Arthouse Hotel, Melbourne - 18
Sunday January 16th – The National Hotel, Geelong - 18
Thursday January 20th – Rosies Live, Brisbane - 18
Friday January 21st -The Cabbage Tree Hotel, Wollongong - 18
Saturday January 22nd - The Gaelic Theatre, Sydney - 18
Sunday January 23rd – The Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle – 18

DOOM
Wednesday 23rd March – The Forum, Sydney
Thursday 24th March – The Espy, Melbourne
Friday 25th March – Metro City, Perth
Saturday 26th March – The Governor Hindmarsh Hotel, Adelaide

Sufjan Stevens
Thursday 27th January – Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall, Sydney Festival
Friday 28th January – Sydney Opera House, Concert Hall, Sydney Festival
Sunday 30th January – Tivoli Theatre, Brisbane
Monday 31st January – State Theatre, Melbourne
Tuesday 1st February – Festival Theatre, Adelaide
Thursday 3rd February – Regal Theatre, Perth
Friday 4rd February – Regal Theatre, Perth

The Books
Wednesday 16th February – Perth International Arts Festival
Friday 18th Februray – Seymour Centre, Sydney
Saturday 19th February – The Zoo, Brisbane
Sunday 20th February – Thornbury Theatre, Melbourne
Monday 21st February – Thornbury Theatre, Melbourne

Custom Kings w/Leena
Thursday 25th November – Bon Amici, Toowoomba
Friday 26th November – The Old Museum Concert Hall, Brisbane
Wednesday 1st December – Harp Hotel, Wollongong
Thursday 2nd December – Clarendon Guesthouse, Katoomba
Friday 3rd December – Old Manly Boatshed, Manly
Saturday 4th December – Annandale Hotel, Sydney
Wednesday 8th December – Manhattans, Perth
Thursday 9th December – Norfolk Basement, Fremantle
Friday 10th December – Malt, Dunsborough
Saturday 11th December – Catalyst, Adelaide
Friday 17th December – Prince of Wales, Melbourne
Saturday 18th December – The Grand, Ballarat

Aloe Blacc/Wajeed/Benji B
Friday 28th January – Beck’s Bar, Sydney Festival (Aloe Blacc, Benji B & Wajeed)
Saturday 29th January – Rocket Bar, Adelaide (Aloe Blacc)
Saturday 29th January – The Bird, Perth (Wajeed)
Friday 4th February – Roxanne Parlour, Melbourne (Aloe Blacc, Benji B & Wajeed)
Saturday 5th February – The Bakery, Perth (Aloe Blacc & Benji B)
Saturday 5th February – Rocket Bar, Adelaide (Wajeed)

Jonathan Boulet
Friday 3rd December – CBD Hotel, Newcastle
Saturday 4th December – Beach Road Hotel, Sydney
Thursday 9th December – Alhambra Hotel, Brisbane
Friday 10th December – Adelaide Uni Bar, Adelaide
Friday 17th December – The East Brunswick Club, Melbourne

Helm
Friday 3rd December – The Pub, Bendigo
Saturday 4th December – The Espy, Melbounre
Saturday 4th December – Evelyn Hotel, Melbourne
Thursday 9th December – Coffs Hotel, Coffs Harbour
Saturday 11th December – The Excelsior, Sydney

Kyuss
Wednesday 4 May - Coolangatta Hotel, Gold Coast
Friday 6 May - The Tivoli, Brisbane
Saturday 7 May - Metro Theatre, Sydney
Sunday 8 May – Billboard, Melbourne
Tuesday 10 May – Fowlers, Adelaide
Wednesday 11 May – Capitol, Perth

Linkin Park
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Friday December 3 - Entertainment Centre, Brisbane
Tuesday December 7 - Burswood Dome, Perth
Thursday December 9 - Entertainment Centre, Adelaide
Saturday December 11 - Acer Arena, Sydney
Sunday December 12 – Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne (On sale October 21)
Monday December 13 - Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne
Wednesday December 15 – Acer Arena, Sydney (On sale October 21)

Reel Big Fish w/The Aquabats
THURSDAY 2 DECEMBER - BRISBANE, THE TIVOLI – 18
FRIDAY 3 DECEMBER - SYDNEY, UNSW ROUNDHOUSE - Lic/AA
SATURDAY 4 DECEMBER - MELBOURNE, BILLBOARD – 18
SUNDAY 5 DECEMBER - HQ, ADELAIDE – 18
TUESDAY 7 DECEMBER - PERTH, CAPITOL – 18

Cute Is What We Aim For
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Sunday 28th November – The Hi Fi, Melbourne (under 18, Early show)
Sunday 28th November – The Hi Fi, Melbourne (18+, Late show)

Flying Lotus w/The Gaslamp Killer & Hudson Mohawke
Friday 31st December – Move @ The Bakery, Perth
Sunday 2nd January – Dank Morass @ The Tivoli, Brisbane
Wednesday 5th January – Canberra
Friday 7th January – The Forum, Sydney
Saturday 8th January – The Outfield, Melbourne

The Jezabels w/Two Hours Traffic
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Thursday 2nd December – The Spotted Cow, Toowoomba
Friday 3rd December – The Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay
Saturday 4th December – The Troubadour, Brisbane

Swans
TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Sunday 6th March – Powerstation, Auckland
Thursday 10th March – Forum Theatre, Melbourne
Friday 11th March – The HiFi, Brisbane
Saturday 12th March – Metro Theatre, Sydney

Stick To Your Guns w/First Blood & Wish For Wings
Sunday 28th November – Oasis Youth Centre, Wyong NSW AA
Tuesday 30th November – Axis Youth Centre, Canberra ACT AA
Wednesday 1st December - Musicman Megastore, Bendigo VIC U18 (arvo)
Wednesday 1st December - Bender Alternative club, Bendigo VIC 18 (night)
Thursday 2nd December –Next, Melbourne VIC 18
Friday 3rd December – Seaford Community Hall, Melbourne VIC AA

My Disco
Friday 3rd December - Hi Fi Bar, Melbourne
Saturday 11th December - Amplifer, Perth
Sunday 12th December - Mojos, Fremantle
Saturday 18th December - The Brisbane Hotel, Hobart

Compiled by: bolgy99
12:37 PM on 11/27/10
#3
birtcho
is...
Offline
User Info.
birtcho's Avatar
Cut Copy album is going to rule so hard
02:00 PM on 11/27/10
#4
bolgy99
Adam
Offline
User Info.
bolgy99's Avatar
Some feedback on the new layout would be great. Trying to sort it so not all the news is touring news. I won't be leaving all the tour dates up, either, but if you can't find some tour info just ask.
02:30 PM on 11/27/10
#5
Broden Terry
I'm glad I built myself an igloo
Offline
User Info.
Broden Terry's Avatar
What has Altiyan Childs been up to this week? These are the pressing issues. Good work though!
02:56 PM on 11/27/10
#6
ygoslo
www.garagedusty.wordpress .com
Offline
User Info.
No Avatar Selected
I like the new format. And Apart From This are pretty awesome, well done on giving them a mention.
03:14 PM on 11/27/10
#7
pwnt.
Overcome this gravity.
Offline
User Info.
pwnt.'s Avatar
I didn't realise the Mest/Rufio tour was cancelled until today. Oh well, gives me another chance to see them.
03:24 PM on 11/27/10
#8
dancelukedance
My body is a bomb
Offline
User Info.
dancelukedance's Avatar
I Exist/Phantoms 7" is sick
04:22 PM on 11/27/10
#9
birtcho
is...
Offline
User Info.
birtcho's Avatar
If people want to hear one of the biggest pop punk songs of the year, listen to Thankyou and Goodnight from Tonight Alives EP. Should make them huge
05:27 PM on 11/27/10
Mr_V1tr1oL
Registered User
Offline
User Info.
Mr_V1tr1oL's Avatar
leaked announcement: Jimmy Eat World tour in April
05:33 PM on 11/27/10
bolgy99
Adam
Offline
User Info.
bolgy99's Avatar
leaked announcement: Jimmy Eat World tour in April
Got a source? Would make sense after the Japanese tour.
06:05 PM on 11/27/10
bolgy99
Adam
Offline
User Info.
bolgy99's Avatar
^it's on moshtix etc .. fuck yeah, just read this. can't seem to find a qld date though (not that i wouldn't travel to see jew)
Cheers. Can only find WA and SA dates, but I'm sure there will be more.
08:05 PM on 11/27/10
CH!MP
planning a prison break
Offline
User Info.
CH!MP's Avatar
may have to go to the last City Escape show.

also seeing Anberlin/The Starting Line/Bayside
^_^
08:40 PM on 11/27/10
xRadioJoyx
Regular Member
Offline
User Info.
xRadioJoyx's Avatar
I can't see JEW cause they are playing an 18+ venue </3
08:54 PM on 11/27/10
Mr_V1tr1oL
Registered User
Offline
User Info.
Mr_V1tr1oL's Avatar
Melbourne JEW show will be at the palace, they have it on the palace website.
Options
Related News Stories

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
PropertyOfZack
PunkNews.org
UnderTheGun
Chorus.fm