AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Album Review

The Tiny - Starring; Someone Like You Album Cover

The Tiny - Starring; Someone Like You

Reviewed by
This review was written by an AP.net staff member.
Released- January 23rd, 2007
Label- Eyeball Records

As a college student, I naturally have no cooking skills or patience (or tools). Thus, also like any good college student, I improvise. I watch Food Network. I dream about the delicious food that I will never taste. Crap, the microwave dinged. Anyways, I have noticed something watching so many cooking shows. Every recipe that is “traditional” or “mouth-watering” has hardly any ingredients. Some of the best things we eat feature only a few, strong elements that can keep us thinking about the taste long after we’re done eating. While listening to The Tiny’s latest record, Starring; Someone Like You, I am reminded of this phenomenon. To call this female fronted band minimalist would be unfair, but the simple arrangements can really do a number on the senses.

The Tiny are some talented musicians, though some tracks may make you think otherwise. As a three-piece, each member plays many different instruments like the pump organ, cello, piano, glockenspiel, musical saw (awesome) or synthesizer. These are obviously not all played at the same time, and each song is a delicate balancing act of warbling vocals over soft, almost nursery rhyme-like instrumentals. I would compare the singer Ellekari to a softer Bjork if the latter took a few singing lessons. If you have ever been to a show and seen an old(er) white lady doing that flowing, off beat, awful dance to a punk band, hand her Starring; Someone Like You. Watch her eyes fill with tears (or are those mine?) as she finally has found a band that is perfect for her ”creative”, very white dance moves.