AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

House Of Fools- 03.06.07

Interviewed by
House Of Fools- 03.06.07How did you meet the rest of the members in the band?

Jeff and I started playing music together and have been friends since junior high. Josh and Joel same story; Matt and Phil same story as well.We all just kind of knew each other from shows and stuff. All of our old bands played together all the time.

Aside from Jimmy Eat World what other bands influence you?

Everyone in the band is inspired independently from different kinds of music. But at the same time we all like a lot of the same stuff. Personally I study a bunch of guitar bands from the 80's (Racer X, Jason Becker, Thin Lizzy, etc.). Where as Phil has studied jazz. It's a really cool blend of talent and people.

When writing what inspires you?

Life.

What's the most important lesson you've learned thus far from being in a band?

Recently we decided we're finally getting a gps. I hear it works wonders.

What was it like to be part of the Bob Dylan tribute album?

Really cool. It was an honor to do that song

How long did it take to write Live And Learn?

Live and learn was a song Josh has had written for a few years so I'm not really sure. When him and matt recorded it, it really came to life and when we started the band it was really fun to arrange. If you're talking about the album most of the songs were already done before we started recording them. We just made little changes here and there.

Who produced the new album?

Walt Vincent, and Mike Green

What was it like working with Walt and Mike?

Both are great at what they do. Personally I had a blast with Mike. He's a great guitar player and we had a lot of fun messing with tones. I feel like he really grasped onto the live aspect of the band and made the material rock a lot more. Walt was real concentrated on the "feel" of the song. He really nailed the singer songwriter aspect of the band.