AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Album Review
Hint: Follow a reviewer to be notified when they post reviews.
June Divided, The - The Other Side of You Album Cover
Author's Rating
Vocals 7.75
Musicianship 8
Lyrics 7.75
Production 8
Creativity 7.75
Lasting Value 8
Reviewer Tilt 8.5
Final Verdict: 80%
Member Ratings
No one has rated this album. You can be the first.

June Divided, The - The Other Side of You

Reviewed by: MusicTalks (07/25/11)
June DividedThe Other Side of You
Record Label: Unsigned
Release Date: February 2011

I’m a recent college grad. I have no job prospects. Resume is updated and I’m looking, but nothing seems to stick. It’s a pretty desolate market out there. Sometimes I want to just turn my back on the entire job scene, throw my hands up, say, “Screw it,” and find something I truly love to do. If it weren’t for the fact that I need some green in my bank account, I’d do it. I’d forget the 9-5 and start something of my own. And, if I had any musical affinities, I’d do what Melissa Menago and Chris Kissel did and start a band. Fresh out of college and fresh out of patience with the working world, they did a 180 and started a band – June Divided. With the debut of their first EP, The Other Side of You, people should be happy they didn’t find office jobs.

After 86’ing the job market, songs were written, practices were had, a Craigslist ad was posted, and a quartet was officially formed. Their EP dropped in February of this year, and it’s jam-packed full of musicality in only 6 songs. It’s quite rare that I hear something on first listen and I like it. The Other Side of You was one of those rare occurrences.