AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Album Review
Hint: Follow a reviewer to be notified when they post reviews.
Andy Zipf - Jealous Hands Album Cover
Author's Rating
Vocals 9.25
Musicianship 8.75
Lyrics 8.5
Production 8.75
Creativity 8
Lasting Value 9.25
Reviewer Tilt 9.5
Final Verdict: 89%
Member Ratings
Vocals 10
Musicianship 10
Lyrics 10
Production 10
Creativity 10
Lasting Value 10
Reviewer Tilt 10
Average: 100%
Inside AP.net

Andy Zipf - Jealous Hands

Reviewed by: Matthew Tsai (07/27/11)
Andy ZipfJealous Hands
Record Label: Hopeless Records
Release Date: July 5th, 2011

Every once in a while, I come across an album that makes me want to force everybody to listen to it. This July, that album is Andy Zipf’s Jealous Hands. Maybe it’s because I normally find it hard to sit through music of similar ilk (I’m only into some of Copeland’s discography, and was never fully convinced by The New Frontiers, although both bands are appropriate RIYLs), and I’m just beginning to discover the charm mellow indie pop holds within. Maybe avid mellow indie pop fans actually find this pretty average. I don’t know. All I know is that to me, Jealous Hands is a startlingly magnificent piece of art. And while I can’t force anyone to listen to it, you’d be a fool not to at least grab the album for free.

What really makes Jealous Hands, above all the slick sounds, choir vocals and various decorations, is Zipf’s voice. It’s always been what’s driven his music, and that’s true here as much as it’s ever been. In many respects, if it was anyone other than Zipf singing the songs on this album, I’d be tempted to write it off as forgettable. That’s not to say the songs on here are poorly written at all – on the contrary, the majority of them are powerful numbers waiting to happen. But structurally, they can be somewhat generic, and it takes nothing short of Zipf’s heavenly delivery to coax forth their chilling potential.