AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

08:18 PM on 09/13/11 
User Info.
theyperch
TSOCKF
Male - 20 Years Old
Hi everyone, I'm not that well known on the forums, but I do post here and there.

I'm actually a student leader for an organization called Amnesty International. Most of you have probably heard the name, but basically, Amnesty is one of the most well known and globally recognized human rights organizations.

I'm here to ask you to sign a petition. This petition is going out for a man named Troy Davis, who is sentenced to be executed on September 21, 2011. 20 years ago, he was convicted of killing a white police officer in the state of Georgia. Since then, seven of the nine witnesses have either retracted or recanted their statements, claiming that police officers pressured and coerced them into signing statements against Davis. In addition, no physical evidence was ever found, leaving Davis' case on extremely shaky ground.

I'm not here to debate whether the death penalty is ethical, I don't want to argue whether he is guilty or not. All I want is for him is to receive justice. Is that too much to ask for?

http://www.change.org/petitions/7-of...tion-on-sep-21

If you're interested in how else you can help, let me know, and I will get try to get you in contact with your local Amnesty International USA leader. Rallies are happening all over the United States, and we are hoping to get enough attention to prevent this execution.

EDIT/UPDATE:
Hey, thanks to everyone who's signed. We've still got a week to save this man's life. Here's a message that Amnesty received from him. Its addressed to Seattle, because I work in the Seattle area.