AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Interview

Adam Elmakias (Photographer) -- 05.02.12

Interviewed by
Adam Elmakias (Photographer) -- 05.02.12I love looking at pictures, whether it be pictures from a show, nature, or even random get-togethers; pictures tell a great story. Adam Elmakias is widely recognized as one of the scene's top photographers; you've probably encountered his work on a t-shirt, a Facebook page, or in various magazines. I was really stoked to talk with Adam about photography and what he's been up to lately. Be sure and pick up one of his lens bracelets, because those are rad.

So you've been working in photography for quite some time. How'd you get your start?

I started when I was in High School, and I got my first camera through a long series of events throughout school; stuff like shooting for the yearbook and talking to my guidance counselor. From there, I started shooting shows twice a week, and I kept making friends with the bands that came through and let them stay at my house; I started networking from there and keeping those connections I had made.

So was there a moment where you realized "Yeah, I want to stick with this as a career"?

I did my first semester of college, and then I realized "Yeah, this isn't for me". So then in early 2008 I drove to Canada and did a few photoshoots over there and then I got on my first tour sortof on accident; I had a manager and I called him up and said "Hey, i'm stuck here in New York, and I need to get a way home". So my manager said "Well, I have one of my bands Just Surrender out there right now", and it worked out; those photos are actually on AP.net, Julia [Conny] posted those for me.

What tour was the first tour that wasn't an accident, and that you were actually invited to join?