AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Album Review
Hint: Follow a reviewer to be notified when they post reviews.
Outline in Color - Jury of Wolves Album Cover
Author's Rating
Vocals 9
Musicianship 7
Lyrics 6
Production 7
Creativity 7.5
Lasting Value 8
Reviewer Tilt 8.5
Final Verdict: 76%
Member Ratings
Vocals 9
Musicianship 8
Lyrics 7
Production 9
Creativity 7
Lasting Value 8.5
Reviewer Tilt 8
Average: 81%

Outline in Color - Jury of Wolves

Reviewed by: hanselromero (11/28/12)
Outline in Color - Jury of Wolves
Record Label: Brkn Records
Release Date: September 25th, 2012

I first heard these guys through an ad on Facebook two years ago, right around when their first EP was about to drop. I remember thinking "This is actually pretty good quality for some local band from Oklahoma." The thing is, I was a freshman. In high school. So what did I know about music? Chances are, I still don't know shit about it. But you know what I do know? This album, while not deviating from the example set by fellow metalcore bands, is pretty decent, and lemme tell you why.

On their debut full-length, Outline in Color has displayed both a maturing evolution from their last release and a sense of maturity and identity within the scene. Sure, they're generic. And yeah, there's tons of chugs and electronics and all the other things almost every other metalcore band and their grandmas have nowadays. But these guys proved with this record that they can have all that and be a bit different from the rest. Each member is clearly pretty good at what they do, but vocalists KC Simonsen and Trevor Tatro and drummer Austin Mcferrin are the ones that really shine. Their contributions to the band's music help propel them to a place above the rest and provide for an interesting and entertaining listen.