Displaying user's 5 posts
09:56 AM on 03/20/13
Holly HoX!
User Info.
Fuck a kickstarter
10:02 AM on 03/20/13
Holly HoX!
User Info.
Agreed. I'm an independent artist. I get no funding from any outside label or other source (I don't claim to sell millions but I sell a few). I saved my money and bought the equipment I needed, and invested my time. (I also have a full time job, if I can find the time they can find the time) I learned how to record, mix, master and distribute my own music.

It doesn't cost that much to record and release music these days. Granted, vinyls do cost more to produce and it is possible to put the money toward touring and marketing but Bands need to start being (or working with) better business people. Most regular businesses would have to go to a bank and be approved for a loan.

The incentives for these things are pointless too. They're just selling the music and merch in advance. Signatures are worthless. (I'll pay for Babe Ruth's autograph why would I want an unproven band's) If the album and band turn out to be good I'll buy the merch anyway.

Besides, he wasn't even a key Glassjaw member and so what if it's Thursday's drummer.

It's a free country though, people can spend their money however they want. Just my thoughts.

Good points. Minus the vinyls thing.
11:26 AM on 03/20/13
Holly HoX!
User Info.
Where were all you people when I was practically buried alive on here for shitting on kickstarter a few months back?

1. Whos kickstarter was it
2. I always shit on kickstarter...until it got monotonous
3. Different ppl in different threads
11:50 AM on 03/20/13
Holly HoX!
User Info.
I honestly can't remember but it really was a shitshow of basically me making a lot of the same points made in this thread and the vast majority of posters in the thread telling me to get real and fuck off because kickstarter is an honorable and great means of artists keeping their fans close. In a nutshell.

Yeah well they were probably dilsmacks anyway