Username
Password
Money News
Hint: Have a news tip? Submit us news.
Money
Inside AP.net

Help Kickstart a "Pay What You Can"...

Posted by: Jason Tate (05/20/13)
Greg McKillop (Speaker for the Dead) has started up a Kickstarter to fund a "pay what you can" recording studio.
The idea for this project comes from my own personal experience of recording bands for years (and being recorded myself) both in and out of pro audio environments. There is a huge gap between the "we just formed a band and need a demo" level and the "I am an established artist ready to go into a real studio environment with a producer and record a full length album." There are very few options for entry level artists to produce examples of their work to shop around and get gigs, and thus they end up spending thousands of dollars to record a CD when they have not had a chance to learn about their own chemistry within their project yet.

Displaying posts 1 - 15 of 27
12:00 PM on 05/20/13
lowerthanwill
User Info.
this is a really great idea
12:00 PM on 05/20/13
left&leaving94
User Info.
Great people trying to do an awesome thing for independent musicians. Definitely worth supporting.
12:03 PM on 05/20/13
OctoberOrigins
Jack
User Info.
That's a pretty cool idea.
12:04 PM on 05/20/13
wall e
@mattobrien37
User Info.
Awesome
12:04 PM on 05/20/13
halfeaten
User Info.
No Avatar Selected
Great idea, not so great in practice.
It'll be what it is. It'll be a rag-tag thing centered based on trust.

$1000 goal? Nothing in the description gives me any sort of details that prove to me that this is more than someone wanting to have a room somewhere. I'll gladly donate $500 (outside of Kickstarter) if such details are presented.

What makes this a recording studio? Saying that $2000 covers acoustical treatment and "recording equipment" makes you seem like you have no clue what you're going to do.