12:44 PM on 07/30/13 
User Info.
luckisoverrated
So is breakfast food.
Texas
Male - 23 Years Old
That's right, a bona fide novel.
Hey, all.
I am a writer. Every year (since 2009) in November, I participate in the National Novel Writing Month, where you're supposed to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days, mostly just to prove that you can, although there are some prizes of sorts. Except last year, my laptop just DIED like a week from the end. The local computer store told me to get a power button off eBay and bring it back to them. Which I did...in May. And then it turned out that didn't fix anything. But I had a story to save. So finally I pulled the files from my laptop in defeat, and the novel lived on in spite of things. I finished it, which I'm glad I got the chance to do.
And here it is, for your reading pleasure.
The reason I'm posting about it on AP.net is because it directly relates to the kind of music we love here. I set out to write a novel that somehow incorporated all the nostalgic reminiscing that we do - directly inspired by this thread, among others. I have to say I failed in that respect, at least by my own judgment. But I love what happened instead.
So without further ado, here's what I'm selling:

Quote:
PLAY ME LIKE YOUR FAVORITE RECORD
by Nate Thomas
The Kid. The Captain. The Heart. The Secret Weapon. After a crushing defeat at a tri-state festival competition, three friends embark on an adventure to re-stake their claim in the world of local music. Will they succeed? Unlikely. Who will help them? Who will stand in their way? Heartbreak and hijinks ensue.

That's the short summary. And here's an excerpt, to prove that I am, in fact, literate and can string words together to form a reasonably well-structured sentence (non-existent formatting aside):

Quote: