AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

Green Day News
Have a news tip? Submit news.

Green Day's "Dookie" Turns 20

Posted by - 07:27 AM on 02/01/14
Green Day's Dookie was released 20 years ago today. Do you remember the first time you heard it? Discuss the seminal album in the replies.

Displaying posts 1 - 15 of 55
07:32 AM on 02/01/14
Alex DiVincenzo
www.alexislegend.com
User Info.
My older brother's friend brought over a Dookie cassette to listen to while we played baseball or football in my front yard when I was around 8. I remember thinking it was cool because it was unlike anything I had heard, but I didn't really get into the album until I was in middle school. As a fan of Blink and The Offspring - two bands who may have never found success without Dookie - it was an easy stepping stone.
07:32 AM on 02/01/14
xdrummerxdudex
i am a legend
User Info.
I bought that album when I was 6 years old. Not only is it my favorite album of all time, but they're the reason I started playing music.
07:36 AM on 02/01/14
antiradio
User Info.
No Avatar Selected
this cd got me into punk for sure - i was 14 at the time. will have to listen today
07:36 AM on 02/01/14
kidblink
User Info.
i was 9 years old. had it on cassette and cd. no album has brought more joy in my life as a child.
07:43 AM on 02/01/14
bigcoaster95
User Info.
No Avatar Selected
I got it for my 10th bday in 2005. American idiot fascinated me with the band so I dove into the earlier work and it was amazing. But due to my age American Idiot was what dookie was to a lot of you guys.
08:11 AM on 02/01/14
Paris1nFlames
User Info.
I first heard basket case during the promotion of Angus (Iwas in 5th grade) , and knew immediately this was something different and awesome.... I then recorded the tape from a friend and was fascinated by the lyrics, especially considering I didn't understand quite a few... My parents weren't too thrilled when I asked them what a whore was. Haha
08:27 AM on 02/01/14
Amongster