AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password

RIAA News
Have a news tip? Submit news.

The RIAA v. U

Posted by - 09:40 AM on 09/02/08
Now that school is kicking back into effect, you might be curious what the RIAA and universities are doing to battle P2P downloading applications. Ars Techinca wraps up several colleges' new policies and plans of action in this article.

Displaying posts 1 - 15 of 25
09:47 AM on 09/02/08
Phil507
Cynical and sarcastic dick
User Info.
No Avatar Selected
I love how none of these morons realize that 80% of piracy is totally friends sending music to one another (AIM, SendSpace, YouSendIt, etc.) I may be a few years out of college but I'd be willing to guess that your average 19-year-old dumbass can't usually wrap his head around how a torrent works or how to use IRC channels/Usenet effectively.
09:56 AM on 09/02/08
marchofmarty
SPINE, THIGH, AND BREAST
User Info.
I started torrenting before I graduated high school, sorry.
09:59 AM on 09/02/08
ZoSo1886
www.twitter.com/jamesbenedictnj
User Info.
torrents are great after i can no longer be a part of the P2P network that is solely on my former campus
10:01 AM on 09/02/08
Phil507
User Info.
No Avatar Selected
I started torrenting before I graduated high school, sorry.

You're still ahead of the curve.
10:08 AM on 09/02/08
marchofmarty
SPINE, THIGH, AND BREAST
User Info.
You're still ahead of the curve.

Only by three months. :(

Although I will say this, I was like 16 maybe 17 when I first used it and I didn't have a damn clue what I was doing lol.
10:09 AM on 09/02/08
Jeff_Ryan
easy come and easy go, whatever
User Info.
i usually find albums on sharing sites. if i like it i buy it. if i don't like it, i delete it. isn't that the RIAA's rule anyway? you can have it for 24 hours?

i used limewire in middle school and used torrents in like 9th / 10th grade but i got really sick of them
10:10 AM on 09/02/08
furey
hard action- hot reaction
User Info.