Album Review
Action 45 - All the Rage! Album Cover

Action 45 - All the Rage!

Reviewed by
Action 45 - All the Rage!
Record Label: Unsigned
Release Date: September 16, 2008

Made up of former members from SoCal local band White Trash Debutantes, Action 45 is punk rock that revels in its own glamorous filth. Think Rancid meets Stiff Little Fingers, trying to keep things old school and innovative, but also kinda messy at the same time.

How is it?

Action 45's biggest downfall is that All the Rage reeks of a band trying to be something classic. Their intentions are there, and it's worth noting that they want to present an old school punk sound while looking the part, but it's all rather sloppy and incoherent. All the Rage seems to be unsure of where it wants to go, looking both ways before it crosses the street, but without a clear direction. "High Life" is a beer-can-toting anthem, yet "How Things Change" is a punctual number driven by political ire. "14 States" is a wink and a nod to mischief, then "Tender Ties" is a track that resembles the street life Rancid writes about.

Between this tug-o-war the content presents, the band wants to be a party (according to their website, they like beer & omelets), but some of the lyrics are rambling & redundant and the production never gives the band a chance to show off any of their singular talents. While there are some above-average rockers present here ("All the Rage"), there are far too many filler tracks with the same type of dialogue you'd find on several other records in the same vein ("Sindra"). The band repeats the line "Are you ready for some ACTION?" all over their website and Myspace. Unfortunately, in this case, being ready for some action also requires you to want to take a rest.

Recommended if You LikeRancid (to a lesser degree); Misfits; Stiff Little Fingers
Choice Cuts"How Things Change," "Tender Ties" and "All the Rage"

Tracklisting1. Castaway
2. How Things Change
3. Goin'
4. High Life
5. 14 States
6. Tender Ties
7. Suicide Crossing
8. Stay Ten
9. She Said
10. Sindra
11. All the Rage
12. A Guilty Mind
Band MembersDeuce X. Machina: vocals
Johny Vile: drums
Jake Lush: guitar
Chris Plank: bass

Online VitalsOfficial Site | Official Myspace
PurchaseAmazon MP3
This review is a user submitted review from smoke4thecaper. You can see all of smoke4thecaper's submitted reviews here.
No one has commented on this album review.
You can be the first.

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
Encore Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
Encore Podcast on iTunes
Encore on Overcast
AP.net on Tumblr
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate