AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
"I played the wolf and left it to the sheep to figure out."
Album ReviewsThe Cinema - Talking In Your Sleep (Ryan Gardner)
The New Basement Tapes - Lost on the River (Craig Manning)
Interviewsyellowbirddd (Alex DiVincenzo)
Backtrack (Jake Denning)
Ryan Gardner on 12/15/14 - 07:26 AM
Never got a gift; gold, frankincense or myrrh, and never would’ve cared if you could just have her.
Staff ReviewsLos Campesinos! - A Los Campesinos! Christmas EP (Kelly Doherty)
Kelly Doherty on 12/12/14 - 05:04 AM
Read my review and look at my photos from the final date of Slipknot's "Prepare for Hell" tour with Korn and King 810 on December 7 in Lowell, MA. The whole thing, I think, was sick.
Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor didn't hesitate to call "Prepare for Hell" one of the best tours of the band's career. It says a lot that both Slipknot and Korn are still going strong, releasing interesting material and putting on such strong performances 15+ years later. The thousands of fans in attendance clearly loved it, and the late Gray would be proud to see his brothers carrying on his legacy with such reverence.
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/09/14 - 06:16 PM
The sun ran out on a cold October, and where she ended up no one knew.
Staff ReviewsBig K.R.I.T. - Cadillactica (Jake Jenkins)
Show ReviewsSlipknot, Korn, King 810 - Worcester, MA [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/09/14 - 07:08 AM
Read my review and take a look at my pictures of Say Anything, Saves The Day and Reggie and The Full Effect in Worcester, MA. Say Anything performed all of ...Is a Real Boy, Saves the Day played Through Being Cool, and Reggie dressed in Christmas costumes.
I've had the pleasure of seeing Say Anything more than a handful of times over the past decade, but I've never seen mastermind Max Bemis so invigorated, so confident, so happy to be on stage as he was at The Palladium in Worcester, MA on November 30th. His excitement was matched only by that of the crowd, who were eager to hear his modern masterpiece in its entirety. And the set began with a song of rebellion...
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/03/14 - 06:15 PM
So to Hell with holiday romantics. December is for cynics.
Staff ReviewsChad Perrone - Kaleidoscope (Craig Manning)
Show ReviewsSay Anything, Saves the Day, Reggie and the Full Effect - Worcester, MA [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Staff InterviewsObey The Brave (Jake Denning)
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/03/14 - 07:16 AM
Anthony Sorendino on 12/02/14 - 09:15 AM
"Summer is over, and I wanna leave you satisfied."
Staff ReviewsCirca Survive - Descensus (Jake Jenkins)
Walk the Moon - Talking is Hard (Anthony Sorendino)
Front Porch Step - Whole Again EP
(Caitlin DeWeese)
Staff InterviewsAaron Marsh of Copeland (Jason Tate)
Anthony Sorendino on 12/02/14 - 07:31 AM
Pumping blood to the roots of evil to keep it young.
Staff ReviewsThe Ghost Inside - Dear Youth (Jake Denning)
Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 2 (Jake Jenkins)
Jake Denning on 11/18/14 - 10:00 AM
Read our write up of the 11/15 Austin stop of Four Year Strong's "Go Down in History" Tour with Transit and Such Gold.
While I’m not really into Four Year Strong or the “easy-core” genre like I was when I was 16, I still had a great time at the show. The band just knows how to write hooks, gang vocals, and bring all the energy to the stage live. I had mixed feelings about Transit’s set similar to my mixed feelings about their albums. And then Such Gold managed to have even more energy live than on their albums, a great feat for such a young band. Regardless of what era of Four Year Strong you’re into – or even if you aren’t too into them anymore – their show is highly entertaining with...
Ryan Gardner on 11/17/14 - 11:09 AM
"They used to shout my name, now they whisper it."
Album ReviewsXTRMST (AFI) - XTRMST (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsFour Year Strong, Transit, Such Gold - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
InterviewsThe Jazz June (Caitlin DeWeese)
Ryan Gardner on 11/17/14 - 08:37 AM
"My head is giving me life or death, but I can't choose."
Staff ContentFoo Fighters - Sonic Highways (Craig Manning)
Such Gold - The New Sidewalk (Zac Djamoos)
Craig Manning on 11/12/14 - 06:50 AM
I think John Adams was a miniseries I didn't watch because it looked like a book.
Staff ReviewsPianos Become The Teeth - Keep You (Drew Beringer)
Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright In The End (Blake Solomon)
Drew Beringer on 11/11/14 - 06:11 AM
"Why do you sing with me at all?"
Staff ContentDamien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy (Craig Manning)
Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright In The End (Blake Solomon)
Staff InterviewsFor The Fallen Dreams (Pt. 1) (Jake Denning)
Festival PhotosFunFunFunFest (Caitlin DeWeese)
Craig Manning on 11/10/14 - 08:37 AM
Anthony Sorendino on 11/07/14 - 11:30 AM
I have never been so scared and sad at the same time
Show PhotosTiny Moving Parts (Caitlin DeWeese)
Caitlin DeWeese on 11/06/14 - 08:07 AM
I find myself moving my legs to make sure I still can.
ReviewsKnuckle Puck - While I Stay Secluded EP (Blake Solomon)
New Found Glory - Resurrection (Jake Denning)
Blake Solomon on 11/05/14 - 08:47 AM
"I've never had that old Ed size. I've never had Robert's prison guard skin."
Album ReviewsPVRIS - White Noise (Ryan Gardner)
Knuckle Puck - While I Stay Secluded EP (Blake Solomon)
Brandon Cunningham - Give Out EP (Gregory Robson)
Wyatt - Here Comes Everybody EP (Gregory Robson)
Afternoons - Say Yes (Gregory Robson)
Ryan Gardner on 11/04/14 - 06:59 AM
"You're going out in style as long as you look the part"
Staff ReviewsLagwagon - Hang (Caitlin DeWeese)
Show PhotosPUP (Caitlin DeWeese)
Caitlin DeWeese on 10/29/14 - 07:18 AM
"I could build a castle out of all the bricks they threw at me."
Staff ReviewsTaylor Swift - 1989 (Craig Manning)
Young Statues - The Flatlands Are Your Friend (Zac Djamoos)
Right the Stars - The Only Thing (Gregory Robson)
Birdman/Young Thug/Rich Homie Quan - Rich Gang: Tha Tour Part 1 (Jake Jenkins)
Show PhotosAnberlin, Dayshell, Nominee - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Craig Manning on 10/27/14 - 07:33 AM
Read my review and check out of photos of GWAR's performance at Rock and Shock on Saturday with Life of Agony.
The members of GWAR are paying tribute to [Dave] Brockie the only way they know how: a killer rock show. Filled with monsters, metal and mayhem, it's exactly what he would have wanted. If you have the chance, support GWAR, the Slave Pit and Brockie's legacy by attending this tour. There's never a dull moment at a GWAR show - an understatement if there ever was one - but this one feels particularly special.
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/14 - 05:14 PM
I'll introduce you to Clarity, teach you the words to "The Sound of Settling," make you watch High Fidelity.
Staff ReviewsTransit - Joyride (Thomas Nassiff)
Everlost - The Hardest Thing to Say (Craig Manning)
La Bella Charade - Born to Crawl EP (Zac Djamoos)
Staff InterviewsHozier (Jonathan Bautts)
Show ReviewsRock and Shock 2014 with GWAR and Life of Agony - Worcester, MA [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/14 - 07:01 AM
"We'll be lying like lions out in the sand."
Staff ReviewsNominee - I Woke Up (Caitlin DeWeese)
Somos / Sorority Noise - Split (Zac Djamoos)
Caitlin DeWeese on 10/21/14 - 07:01 AM
"I always believed in futures, hope for better in November."
Staff ReviewsJimmy Eat World - Futures (10-Year Reflection) (Craig Manning)
Gerard Way - Hesitant Alien (Jake Jenkins)
gates - Bloom & Breathe (Zac Djamoos)
Craig Manning on 10/20/14 - 05:54 AM
I'm the satellite. You're the sky.
ReviewsDads - I'll Be The Tornado (Blake Solomon)
Micah Olsan and the Many - All Around EP (Gregory Robson)
Blake Solomon on 10/16/14 - 07:51 AM
"Are we out of the woods yet?"
Staff ReviewsAndrew McMahon in the Wilderness - Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness (Craig Manning)
Staff InterviewsAndrew McMahon In the Wilderness (Jonathan Bautts)
Craig Manning on 10/14/14 - 06:01 AM
"And when a nightmare finally does unfold, perspective is a lovely hand to hold."
Staff ReviewsHoodie Allen - People Keep Talking (Jake Denning)
Pompeii - Loom (Zac Djamoos)
Dear You - I Can Only Blame Myself (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 10/13/14 - 08:39 AM
"There’s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold."
Staff ReviewsNew Found Glory - Resurrection (Thomas Nassiff)
From Indian Lakes - Absent Sounds (Blake Solomon)
Staff Interviews New Found Glory (Jonathan Bautts)
Show PhotosNew Found Glory, We Are The In Crowd, and Fireworks - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 10/09/14 - 07:20 AM
Read my review of The Wonder Years' show in Providence, RI on Friday with The Story So Far, Modern Baseball and Elder Brother.
I've written about The Wonder Years so many times over the past 5+ years, but they never cease to amaze me. Not only are they excellent on record, but their live show takes their songs to a new level; they embody the perfect balance between high energy and strong musicianship. Vocalist Dan "Soupy" Campbell leads the group and their loyal fans on an hour-long roller coaster of a performance.
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/06/14 - 08:31 PM
Is this what you needed? A break from the world and a place to rest your head. But I'm not finished yet.
Album ReviewsMoose Blood - I'll Keep You In Mind, From Time To Time (Zac Djamoos)
Show ReviewsThe Wonder Years, The Story So Far, Modern Baseball, Elder Brother - Providence, RI (Alex DiVincenzo)
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/06/14 - 07:03 AM
"Lump in the throat, too hard to swallow."
Staff ReviewsJamie T - Carry On The Grudge (Kyle Huntington)
Staff InterviewsRoyal Blood (Jonathan Bautts)
Kyle Huntington on 10/03/14 - 04:34 AM
"Out of time, all out of fight, you are the only thing in life that I got right."
Staff ReviewsYellowcard - Lift a Sail (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 09/30/14 - 06:55 AM
I'm your fool
Staff ReviewsPerfume Genius - Too Bright (Jake Jenkins)
Violent Soho - Hungry Ghost (Caitlin DeWeese)
Hightide Hotel - Naturally (Zac Djamoos)
Jake Jenkins on 09/29/14 - 08:15 AM
We've got a group of user reviews to share today:
User ReviewsThe New Age - Think Too Much; Feel Too Little (SpencerCoronado)
The Early November - The Mother, The Mechanic, and the Path (himynameisrenzo)
Jason Feathers - De Oro (AmerikasChild)
Turnover - Blue Dream EP (Aj_LaGambina)
Turnover - Blue Dream EP (CDGrec)
Clay Cages - Tension (SpencerCoronado)
Anthony Sorendino on 09/28/14 - 09:38 AM
"Forgetting you, but not the time."
10-Year Anniversary Retro ReviewGreen Day - American Idiot (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 09/22/14 - 07:28 AM
It's tied on my tongue. A thousand words, repeating like a pendulum.
ReviewsTiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living (Blake Solomon)
Paul Maged - Diamonds & Demons (Craig Manning)
Lee Brice - I Don't Dance (Gregory Robson)
Blake Solomon on 09/19/14 - 08:57 AM
"Dressed up like a car crash, your wheels are turning but you're upside down."
Staff ReviewsU2 - Songs of Innocence (Craig Manning)
Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden (Jake Jenkins)
Interpol - El Pintor (Ryan Reisert)
Hostage Calm - Die On Stage (Zac Djamoos)
Staff InterviewsKimbra (Jonathan Bautts)
Craig Manning on 09/15/14 - 05:07 AM
"Up here in the city it feels like things are closing in, the sunset's just my lightbulb burning out."
Staff ReviewsRyan Adams - Ryan Adams (Craig Manning)
DJ Mustard - 10 Summers (Jake Jenkins)
Mark Erelli - Milltowns (Gregory Robson)
Craig Manning on 09/10/14 - 05:49 AM
"Autumn leaves falling down like pieces into place, and I can picture it after all these days."
Album ReviewsSpoon - They Want My Soul (Blake Solomon)
The American Scene - Haze (Ryan Gardner)
Let It Happen - Cause + Effect (Ryan Gardner)
Young Fox - Predecessors (Zac Djamoos)
Heavyweights - Keep Your Friends Close (Zac Djamoos)
A Social State - How to Get to Heaven (Zac Djamoos)
InterviewsFinch (Jonathan Bautts)
Ryan Gardner on 09/08/14 - 07:09 AM
Anthony Sorendino on 09/07/14 - 06:58 PM
"You're all fakes, run to your mansions."
Staff ReviewsSpoon - They Want My Soul (Blake Solomon)
Maroon 5 - V (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 09/04/14 - 05:56 AM
"If dreams are like movies, then memories are films about ghosts."
Staff ReviewsCounting Crows - Somewhere Under Wonderland (Craig Manning)
Cory Branan - The No-Hit Wonder (Gregory Robson)
Staff InterviewsCounting Crows (Jonathan Bautts)
Craig Manning on 09/03/14 - 05:54 AM
Why bring her back if you can live her down?
Show ReviewsTom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Steve Winwood - Boston, MA [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Staff InterviewsCounting Crows (Jonathan Bautts)
Alex DiVincenzo on 09/02/14 - 07:04 AM
Now I thought about what I wanna say, but I never really know where to go
Staff ReviewsShabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty (Jake Jenkins)
The Lost Poets - Insubordia (Craig Manning)
Clocks & Clouds - The Creation of Matter (Craig Manning)
Jake Jenkins on 08/28/14 - 08:54 AM
"Eurydice, I never stop losing you."
Staff ReviewsThe Hydrothermal Vents - Secrets of the Deep (Craig Manning)
Staff InterviewsBleachers (Jonathan Bautts)
Craig Manning on 08/14/14 - 07:08 AM
Album Reviews
Interviews
View this review.The Semester Review
By Jeremy Aaron

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
AP.net Podcast on iTunes
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate