AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
Read our write up of the Austin 4/5 stop of Lydia's "Illuminate" tour with HRVRD and Golden Sun.
Just over five years old now, it’s no wonder Illuminate holds such a legacy behind it to so many people. As Lydia encored with three Devil cuts – “Devil,” “Knee Deep,” and “The Exit” – and Paint It Golden’s “Best Nights.” I realized how well the band can do both sides – the dark, atmospheric songs of Illuminate as well as the upbeat, spring soundtrack that is Devil. I find myself enjoying each of their records for a different reason, but Illuminate is the one that will always hold the most meaning to me. It holds more meaning to me than maybe any other record, and this night confirmed...
Ryan Gardner on 04/10/14 - 10:38 AM
And now the one you once loved is leaving.
Album ReviewsThe Boxer Rebellion - Promises (Anthony Sorendino)
Bobby Bare Jr. - Undefeated (Gregory Robson)
Fairweather - Fairweather (Zac Djamoos)
Direct Divide - Bridges (Craig Manning)
The Colourist - The Colourist (Gregory Robson)
YG - My Krazy Life (Jake Jenkins)
Show ReviewsLydia's "Illuminate" Tour w/ HRVRD and Golden Sun - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Staff InterviewBanner Pilot (Deborah Remus)
Ryan Gardner on 04/10/14 - 06:46 AM
Check the replies for the user reviews submitted recently!
Anthony Sorendino on 04/08/14 - 07:31 AM
"I needed that damn woman like a dream needs gasoline."
Staff Reviewsno:carrier - Wisdom & Failure (Craig Manning)
Staff InterviewAgainst Me! (Deborah Remus)
Craig Manning on 04/04/14 - 07:50 AM
Where are my dragons?
ReviewsChiodos - Devil (Drew Beringer)
Ras Xix - Ras Xix (Craig Manning)
Drew Beringer on 04/03/14 - 10:18 AM
"This town was so much fun when there weren't so much police, we didn't have to watch our speed."
Staff ReviewsThe Hold Steady - Teeth Dreams (Craig Manning)
Staff InterviewsStick To Your Guns (Jake Denning)
Craig Manning on 04/01/14 - 07:21 AM
The trees they slowly turn to smoke.
ReviewsManchester Orchestra - Cope (Blake Solomon)
Seahaven - Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only (Drew Beringer)
Evian Christ - Waterfall (Jake Jenkins)
Blake Solomon on 03/31/14 - 08:02 AM
"And if we stay on track as long as we can, then we'll end up back where we began."
Staff ReviewsThe Year Fifteen - As a World Entire (Zac Djamoos)
Zac Djamoos on 03/29/14 - 11:13 AM
Check out the replies for the user reviews submitted recently!
Anthony Sorendino on 03/26/14 - 08:15 PM
Read our write up of the 3/23 Austin stop of La Dispute's "Rooms of the House" Tour with Pianos Become The Teeth and Mansions.
For the first time, I’m actually having a fairly hard time describing exactly what made this night and show so intense for me – aside form just the nature and content of the music, that is. Maybe it was the weather. Maybe it was that my hoodie wasn’t quite warm enough. Maybe it’s because I was at the show alone, which is rare. Whatever the reason, everything added up and the intensity and show just clicked. No matter what band you’re a fan of or what album or song catches your ear most, definitely go see this show if it comes near you.
Ryan Gardner on 03/26/14 - 02:40 PM
"I remember it so well - watching you shifting your weight, turning the page. I can see it all there."
Show ReviewsLa Dispute’s “Rooms of the House” Tour with Pianos Become The Teeth and Mansions - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Staff ReviewsDrunksouls - Just Before Chaos (Craig Manning)
Amatus - Broken Compass (Craig Manning)
Ryan Gardner on 03/26/14 - 08:34 AM
I was the focal point out of focus, out of ink.
Staff ReviewsFireworks - Oh, Common Life (Thomas Nassiff)
Have Mercy/Daisyhead - Split (Zac Djamoos)
Staff InterviewsMiss May I (Jake Denning)
PhotosMatthew Mayfield at Tin Angel (Anthony Sorendino)
Thomas Nassiff on 03/24/14 - 09:43 PM
There's a limit to your love.
Staff ReviewsRick Ross - Mastermind (Jake Jenkins)
Martin Van Ruin - Every Man A King (Gregory Robson)
Jake Jenkins on 03/24/14 - 09:27 AM
Cool motive. Still murder.
Staff ReviewsI Am The Avalanche - Wolverines (Drew Beringer)
Tokyo Police Club - Forcefield (Blake Solomon)
Gameface - Now Is What Matters Now (Zac Djamoos)
Marla Mase - Half-Life (Craig Manning)
InterviewsFour Year Strong (Jake Denning)
Drew Beringer on 03/19/14 - 05:23 AM
Check the replies for the user reviews submitted recently!
Anthony Sorendino on 03/17/14 - 06:51 PM
Everything is my business.
Staff ReviewsLa Dispute - Rooms Of The House (Drew Beringer)
Drew Beringer on 03/17/14 - 07:06 AM
"The pills that you gave didn't do anything. I just slept for years on end, fuck."
Staff ReviewsReal Estate - Atlas (Kelly Doherty)
Gameface - Come On Down (Zac Djamoos)
The Grand Budapest Hotel (Jonathan Bautts)
Zac Djamoos on 03/15/14 - 10:33 AM
"Pro-tip: lick the baggie. There's food molecules in there!"
Staff ReviewsSt. Vincent - St. Vincent (Drew Beringer)
Latimer House - All the Rage (Craig Manning)
Drew Beringer on 03/14/14 - 08:51 AM
I'm just pulling on a line.
ReviewsNothing - Guilty of Everything (Blake Solomon)
The Chain Gang of 1974 - Daydream Forever (Gregory Robson)
Farewell Flight - I Was A Ghost (Gregory Robson)
Man With A Mission - Don't Feel The Distance EP (Gregory Robson)
Blake Solomon on 03/11/14 - 06:16 AM
"I never felt this way before, I say that every hour"
Staff ReviewsThe Men - Tomorrow's Hits (Chris Collum)
Nai Harvest - Hold Open My Head (Zac Djamoos)
Jackson Harris - Sharks and Vampires (Gregory Robson)
The Young Presidents - Coalition (Gregory Robson)
PhotosYoung the Giant - Tower Theater, 2-26-14 (Anthony Sorendino)
Chris Collum on 03/07/14 - 12:43 PM
Check out the replies for the user reviews submitted recently.
Anthony Sorendino on 03/03/14 - 06:19 PM
"People turn the TV on, it looks just like a window."
Staff ReviewsSchoolboy Q - Oxymoron (Jake Jenkins)
Jake Jenkins on 02/28/14 - 10:57 AM
"Why don't you smegging well smeg off, you annoying little smeggy smegging smegger?"
Staff ReviewsGnarwolves - Chronicles of Gnarnia (Dre Okorley)
InterviewsStiff Little Fingers (Kelly Doherty)
Dre Okorley on 02/27/14 - 07:58 AM
"And when this hourglass has filtered out its final grain of sand, I'll raise my glass to the memories we had."
Staff ReviewsKaty B - Little Red (Jake Jenkins)
Lydia Loveless - Somewhere Else (Gregory Robson)
Richard Tyler Epperson - Hourglass (Craig Manning)
Staff Interviews Mike Davenport (The Ataris) (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 02/26/14 - 07:20 AM
"And the plaster dented from your fist in the hall where you had your first kiss reminds you that the memories will fade."
Staff ReviewsTwin Forks - Twin Forks (Craig Manning)
The Fray - Helios (Craig Manning)
Beck - Morning Phase (Craig Manning)
The Hotelier - Home, Like Noplace Is There (Chris Collum)
Katy B - Little Red (Jake Jenkins)
Staff InterviewsChris Carrabba (Twin Forks) (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 02/25/14 - 06:47 AM
You were my ticket outta here, and I was your dream come true.
Staff Reviews Beck - Morning Phase (Craig Manning)
Skaters - Manhattan (Gregory Robson)
Lael Summer - Burden to Bear (Craig Manning)
Gregory Robson on 02/24/14 - 05:25 AM
I guess you don't need it. I guess you don't want me to repeat it.
Staff Reviews Bayside - Cult (Drew Beringer)
Augustines - Augustines (Gregory Robson)
Phantogram - Voices (Gregory Robson)
The Royal Oui - The Royal Oui (Gregory Robson)
Scott H. Biram - Nothin’ But Blood (Gregory Robson)
Bombay Bicycle Club - So Long, See You Tomorrow (Kelly Doherty)
Staff InterviewsAnthony Raneri (Bayside) (Drew Beringer)
Gregory Robson on 02/20/14 - 03:34 AM
"The room still looks like you, it's a mess and all the pictures on the shelf are dusted off by someone else."
Staff ReviewsWilliam Fitzsimmons - Lions (Craig Manning)
Bombay Bicycle Club - So Long, See You Tomorrow (Kelly Doherty)
Craig Manning on 02/18/14 - 07:02 AM
Check out the replies for the user reviews submitted recently.
Anthony Sorendino on 02/17/14 - 08:48 AM
Chris Collum on 02/16/14 - 10:02 PM
Staff ReviewsIssues - Issues (Jake Denning)
Jake Denning on 02/14/14 - 12:24 PM
"We drink and we dry up and now we crumble into dust"
Album ReviewsTemples - Sun Structures (Chris Collum)
Eric Church - The Outsiders (Gregory Robson)
Blunda - Messages (Craig Manning)
Bhavana Reddy - Tangled in Emotions EP (Gregory Robson)
Chris Collum on 02/11/14 - 09:32 PM
"You cut our ropes, left the umbilical, and now I'm lost and I can't take this path back home."
Staff ReviewsTides of Man - Young and Courageous (Jake Jenkins)
Sun Kil Moon - Benji (Craig Manning)
Joie De Vivre/Prawn - Split EP (Blake Solomon)
Staff InterviewsThe Classic Crime (Jake Denning)
Jake Jenkins on 02/11/14 - 02:02 AM
"Live like a legend and die like an asshole."
Staff ReviewsModern Baseball - You're Gonna Miss It All (Thomas Nassiff)
The MonaLisa Twins - The MonaLisa Twins Play Beatles & More (Craig Manning)
Thomas Nassiff on 02/09/14 - 11:01 PM
"It's getting kind of quiet in my city's head, takes a teen age riot to get me out of bed"
Album ReviewsHave a Nice Life - The Unnatural World (Chris Collum)
States - Paradigm (Anthony Sorendino; Video Review)
Chris Collum on 02/06/14 - 09:48 PM
Check the replies for the user reviews that were submitted recently.
Anthony Sorendino on 02/05/14 - 06:21 PM
Read my review and take a look at my photos of Yellowcard's Ocean Avenue Acoustic Tour with What's Eating Gilbert in Providence, RI on February 1.
More than a decade after singing "I've made it this far now / And I'm not burning out" in "Way Away," Key and his bandmates are standing by those words. Yellowcard has run the gamut of highs and lows since Ocean Avenue's release; to see so many people continue to care after after all this time is further proof of the band's resiliency.
Alex DiVincenzo on 02/04/14 - 05:37 PM
"Carissa was thirty-five; you don't just raise two kids, take out your trash, and die"
Album ReviewsThee Silver Mt. Zion - Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light on Everything (Chris Collum)
The Weaks - The World Is a Terrible Place and I Hate Myself... (Zac Djamoos)
Show ReviewsYellowcard "Ocean Avenue Acoustic Tour" w/ What's Eating Gilbert - Providence, RI [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Chris Collum on 02/03/14 - 09:56 PM
"I'm not telling you all I'm going through"
Single ReviewsCloud Nothings - "I'm Not Part of Me" (Chris Collum)
Real Estate - "Talking Backwards" (Kelly Doherty)
Album ReviewsKandia Crazy Horse - Stampede (Gregory Robson)
Nest - Hadal (Zac Djamoos)
Chris Collum on 01/31/14 - 09:50 AM
"And the only thing that really matters is the one thing I can't seem to do".
ReviewsReal Estate - "Talking Backwards" (single) (Kelly Doherty)
Human Animal - Dark Days EP (Aaron Mook, contributor)
Kelly Doherty on 01/29/14 - 04:06 AM
Check the replies for the most recent user reviews.
Anthony Sorendino on 01/28/14 - 09:28 AM
"You were vintage clothes, simple prose, the eighth wonder of the world"
Staff ReviewsThe Lawrence Arms - Metropole (Scott Weber)
You Me At Six - Cavalier Youth (Jack Appleby)
Hailey, It Happens - Under the Brilliant Lights (Craig Manning)
Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks - Wig Out at Jagbags (Chris Collum)
Driftwood - Driftwood (Gregory Robson)
The Square (Jonathan Bautts)
Chris Collum on 01/27/14 - 09:39 PM
Check out a single review I wrote on my blog for Taking Back Sunday's new single, "Flicker, Fade." You can read it in the replies.
”Flicker, Fade” possesses the sincerity that made me fall in love with Taking Back Sunday in the first place, with its eruptive and incredibly catchy chorus sandwiched with the band’s mastery of soft/loud/soft dynamics, as John Nolan delivers his impassioned yells buoyed the song’s chaotic outro.
Drew Beringer on 01/25/14 - 02:15 PM
Tom put all of my records into this rectangle.
Staff ReviewsAgainst Me! - Transgender Dysphoria Blues (Drew Beringer)
A Balance Between - Negative Space (Zac Djamoos)
Gumshen - Progtronica (Craig Manning)
Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit (Jonathan Bautts)
Drew Beringer on 01/24/14 - 03:06 AM
"Your tells are so obvious."
ReviewsSecond Story - Not The Same As Last Year EP (Ryan Gardner)
Lakefield - Swan Song (Craig Manning)
Blitz Kids - The Good Youth (Andy Biddulph)
Abram Shook - Sun Marquee (Gregory Robson)
Young the Giant - Mind Over Matter (Gregory Robson)
The Past (Jonathan Bautts)
InterviewThe Lawrence Arms (Deborah Remus)
Ryan Gardner on 01/22/14 - 08:40 AM
Album Reviews
Interviews
View this review.The Semester Review
By Jeremy Aaron

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
AP.net Podcast on iTunes
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate