AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
Turn me back into the pet that I was when we met, I was happier then with no mind-set.
Staff ReviewsFierce Brosnan - Good Luck Exploding (Kelly Doherty)
Heart To Heart - Heart To Heart (Kelly Doherty)
Show ReviewsLydia, All Get Out, and Sweet Talker - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Kelly Doherty on 12/04/12 - 05:38 AM
Like when we would take rides in your American muscle car.
Staff ReviewsState Champs - Overslept EP (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsYellowcard, The Wonder Years, We Are The In Crowd, Sandlot Heroes - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 11/09/12 - 08:02 AM
The weekend of triple fun is now over. After sets from Braid, The Promise Ring and Refused, among many many others, I'm still a bit overwhelmed by it all. Hit the replies to read user Dustin Harkins and I's final write-ups. You can head to our Facebook page to check out a full set of photos from the weekend from photographer Sara Strick. Also be sure to check out Purevolume's full gallery from the weekend as well. Fugazi? Jawbreaker? Unwound? Harkonen? Who knows what next year will bring, but I'll be patiently waiting for the Fall of 2013 regardless. Seriously, please Harkonen, please!
Adam Pfleider on 11/06/12 - 12:44 PM
It's been quite a long weekend. It's been quite an amazing one as well. Head to the replies to check out reviews of Saturday's Fun Fun Fun Fest where user Dustin Harkins and I finally got to see Refused destroy our senses for an hour. You can view photos from the weekend over on our Facebook page. Our reviews of Sunday will be up tomorrow.
Adam Pfleider on 11/05/12 - 04:24 PM
Do we have anything to live for? Well of course we do. But until it comes true, we're drinking.
Staff ReviewsBayside - Covers, Vol. I (Thomas Nassiff)
Candy Hearts - The Best Ways to Disappear EP (Jason Gardner)
Show ReviewsTaking Back Sunday’s Tell All Your Friends Tour (TAYF10) - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Thomas Nassiff on 11/04/12 - 09:59 PM
What a hell of a first day at this year's Fun Fun Fun Fest. You can check out a couple of photos from the day over on our Facebook page. Head to the replies to see not only my review, but Dustin Harkins review of the festival as well, who will be down here with me all weekend. Refused, Braid, David Cross and much much more today. I'd bring a bandana if you're hanging out towards the Black Stage today. More than enough dirt and dust is getting stirred up down there.
Adam Pfleider on 11/03/12 - 10:27 AM
"How does it feel to be on the receiving end of this one?"
Staff ReviewsAnberlin - Vital (Jack Appleby)
Troubled Coast - Awake And Empty (Ryan Gardner)
The World Record - Freeway Special (Gregory Robson)
Devereaux - Cacti Pace EP (Gregory Robson)
The Pauses/Great Deceivers - The Pauses/Great Deceivers EP (Gregory Robson)

Show ReviewsBoys Like Girls and The All-American Rejects - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 10/10/12 - 07:10 AM
Never nothing for you huh? Every never is now
Album ReviewsSparks The Rescue - Sparks The Rescue EP (Ryan Gardner)
Socratic - Lunch for the Sky [Vinyl] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Show ReviewFavorite Gentlemen Tour (Blake Solomon)
Set Your Goals, Mixtapes, Eager Teeth & Leopards - Manchester, UK (Andy Biddulph)
First ImpressionsGallows - Gallows (Andy Biddulph)
Ryan Gardner on 08/22/12 - 10:27 PM
This past weekend I attended Austin's Chaos in Tejas festival for the second time. I was excited about the reunion set from Moss Icon, as well as sets from Thou, Ted Leo and the Pharmacist and Pygmylush, but I also got to see a ton of bands on a whim. It got me thinking about genre classifications, especially in the community of punk rock. Simply put, do you see punk as more of an idea or more of sound? Do you ever find yourself seeing the influence of punk in bands that wouldn't be classified as such? You can read my thoughts here and hit the replies for an afternoon talk.
Adam Pfleider on 06/07/12 - 12:14 PM
"Ow, Scuba Steve! Damn You!"
Show ReviewsEd Sheeran @ Crystal Ballroom, Portland, OR (Jake Denning)
Staff InterviewsSleeping With Sirens (Jake Denning)
letlive. (Jake Denning)
Staff ReviewsB.o.B - Strange Clouds (Joe DeAndrea)
Jake Denning on 05/09/12 - 03:29 AM
"Run from me. You can't wake up if you don't dream of anyone or anything."
Show ReviewsThe Lucky Street Tour: Go Radio, This Providence, Tyler Carter, Ivory Lights (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 04/20/12 - 06:01 AM
One of AP.net's readers, Dustin, was also at the At The Drive In reunion show the other night. He wrote up a pretty cool blog about the experience that I've included below. Also, don't forget to check out Adam's review here.
Fans Report InThe first time I saw The Mars Volta, it was at the 3,000 capacity Palladium Ballroom in Dallas. The first time I saw the Omar Rodriguez-Lopez Group (with Cedric Bixler-Zavala adding vocals), it was at the 1,500 capacity South Side Music Hall. Upon hearing about At The Drive-In's reunion and Coachella performances booked, I couldn't imagine the venues they'd be booked to play if they decided to tour. But they love their home state, and they showed it...
Jason Tate on 04/11/12 - 04:52 PM
Monday night I was able to witness At the Drive-In's first reunion show in eleven years at Red 7 in Austin, Tx. Walking back to my car, I had very mixed emotions about the performance. It was a moment where I looked back on a band that changed what I knew punk rock could be at a young age, and it made me reflect on what I know punk rock to be as a term now more than a decade later. You can read my thoughts on the night here. For all the complaints the site gets about not being "punk enough" - I hope this write-up reflects my sentiments on what you think you know and what time will show you when you get older.
Adam Pfleider on 04/11/12 - 01:44 AM
Hey everybody, if you look up (no, not at the ceiling, at the top of the homepage!), you'll see a staff content post for today. I wanted to give a snippet out of one of those reviews, a live show review I wrote after watching Bruce Springsteen this Sunday open his Wrecking Ball Tour in Atlanta. I haven't written something like that in a long time - everything just came out fluidly. I felt very strongly about the emotion in the show and I encourage you all to read the blog, and check out Springsteen on tour this year, if you have the means.
From the review“Do I have to say his name?” Springsteen would ask. The crowd would respond, “Clarence!” “Do I have to say his name?!” “Clarence!” The...
Thomas Nassiff on 03/22/12 - 10:08 AM
Head here to read a show review of Kiven's EP release party. Step drops on iTunes on March 6th.
Matthew Tsai on 03/04/12 - 03:59 AM
Watch video of Dance Gavin Dance with Matt Geise (Lower Definition) and Kurt Travis (A Lot Like Birds) in the replies, and read my review of their set here.
Jack Appleby on 02/19/12 - 12:44 PM
The Cab and The Summer Set are just about done with their co-headlining tour, but a show review of their stop in NYC can be read here. Tickets for the remaining dates can be purchased on their official website, and be sure to check out The Cab's Symphony Soldier and The Summer Set's Everything's Fine - both of which are available now.
Joe DeAndrea on 02/10/12 - 10:36 AM
You can read a nostalgic reflection about the Where's the Band? Tour from me here. Have you gone? What memories did it bring back and during which songs? Be sure to check out Alex's Backstage Session with Chris Conley here.
Adam Pfleider on 02/03/12 - 02:20 PM
Read my review of The Early November's holiday show with Man Overboard and Hostage Calm at Paradise in Boston, MA on December 26 here.
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/30/11 - 09:17 AM
My review of the Dallas stop of the Yellowcard tour with Go Radio and Every Avenue can be read here.
Ryan Gardner on 11/16/11 - 10:08 PM
It was a long weekend that blew out my eardrums and collected dust in my lungs, but it was well worth it for the sixth annual Fun Fun Fun Fest. You can check out my review of Saturday and Sunday here. Any of you guys go? Who was your favorite act? How much French Onion soup did you eat? Run into Blake from Workaholics?
Adam Pfleider on 11/08/11 - 02:47 PM
Yesterday was the first day (and first full Friday) of the sixth annual Fun Fun Fun Fest down in Austin, TX. You can head here to see my recap of the day. Last night, many fans were disappointed in the "Danzig Legacy" portion of the show. Last night, on Facebook, Transmission Entertainment (festival's promoter/booker) made a statement about the incident. It can be found in the replies.
Adam Pfleider on 11/05/11 - 10:34 AM
I went and saw the Bayside/Saves the Day tour the other night and it got me thinking a lot about longevity. How did those two bands last so much through one of the most progressive times in the music industry? How did they survive against the elements of death, label issues and pleasing longtime fans? Hit the replies and let's talk about not what makes a hold any sort of longevity past "putting out good music." What makes you continue to see your favorite bands year after year or multiple times a year at that?
Adam Pfleider on 11/04/11 - 09:11 AM
You can check out my review of Jack's Mannequin's People & Things Tour featuring support from Motion City Soundtrack here.
Thomas Nassiff on 10/20/11 - 01:32 AM
I wrote some thoughts on Kevin Devine and his latest tour which can be read here.
Adam Pfleider on 10/12/11 - 12:21 PM
My review of the Dallas stop of the Lydia tour with Valise, All Get Out, and Look Mexico can be read here.
Ryan Gardner on 10/10/11 - 09:53 PM
My review of Frank Turner's current headlining tour, featuring support from Into It. Over It. and Andrew Jackson Jihad, can be read here.
Thomas Nassiff on 10/09/11 - 10:39 PM
You can read about last night's Blink-182 show featuring Rancid and Against Me! here.
Deborah Remus on 08/26/11 - 10:51 AM
You can check out my review of the three Florida dates of the 2011 Vans Warped Tour right here.
Thomas Nassiff on 08/14/11 - 10:51 PM
This week marked the end of the RX Bandits' farewell run. I was more than fortunate enough to see the guys play one last time at the end of June at the very beginning of the tour, and I've been working on the way to express what the band has meant to me since picking up Progress for the first time so many years ago. As some of you may or may not know, my original username for the site was duffmanrxbandit. Head here to read my thoughts on the show, some quotes from Matt Embree about the band's music and influences and even some words from the users of AP.net. Definitely let us and the band know what you thought about the last run (for now).
Adam Pfleider on 08/12/11 - 12:44 PM
The beginning of July was quite a month. In the span of the first week, I had seen one of my favorite bands perform for the last time (an article I'm still killing myself over in producing some sort of justice, but will hopefully surface next week). Then I caught two more bands that were ten years back down the road from which I have traveled. Next month I'll be 25, and I think the next five years will be a good time to reflect on the music that mattered and nourished my senses in my late teens and early "adulthood" - or that span of awkward life we all have or will live. You can read my thoughts on the Taking Back Sunday/Thursday tour here.

For the users my age, I ask you this: What...
Adam Pfleider on 07/28/11 - 02:04 PM
My review of the Dallas, TX stop of the 2011 Vans Warped Tour can be read here.
Ryan Gardner on 06/26/11 - 11:04 PM
You can read some thoughts on Fucked Up's show at Chaos in Tejas this past weekend here. Be sure to check out the amazing David Comes to Life which came out this week. After reading this blog, I want you to ask yourself this: Why did I get into punk music?
Adam Pfleider on 06/09/11 - 01:18 PM
I've written some words on two shows I attended on Saturday. You can read my thoughts here. After reading, I want to discuss this question of longevity: When did punk rock become safe? Is it still safe? Do you think less chances are taken to expand what the idea of punk could or should be, or do you think there continues to be an expansion of the undefinable term? What bands do you feel will be remembered for their music and not their actions and/or vice versa ten years from now? 20? Who will your kids look back and see as influential?
Adam Pfleider on 06/06/11 - 04:25 PM
A review of my first night of Chaos in Tejas featuring Converge can be seen here.
Adam Pfleider on 06/03/11 - 04:58 PM
A short review of Dredg and The Dear Hunter's spring tour can be seen here.
Adam Pfleider on 06/02/11 - 03:09 PM
A review and some thoughts on the current Man Scout Jamboree Tour can be read here.
Adam Pfleider on 04/28/11 - 01:50 PM
You can read a show review I wrote for the Rise Against/Bad Religion/Four Year Strong tour right here.
Thomas Nassiff on 04/27/11 - 05:16 AM
You can read an interview with Alex Gaskarth of All Time Low here and a show review of the 4/1 date of the Dirty Work tour here.
Thomas Nassiff on 04/21/11 - 03:26 AM
A few words on Tokyo Police Club, Said the Whale and Dinosaur Bones' Canadian tour can be read here. Have you gone to the previous shows? Are you catching the remaining dates?
Deborah Remus on 04/15/11 - 03:21 PM
A review of Coheed and Cambria's Neverender: The Second Stage Turbine Blade tour can be read here.
Adam Pfleider on 04/14/11 - 11:47 AM
For a review and editorial of Glassjaw's tour and happenings of the last year, head here. A review of the Coloring Book EP and Our Color Green EP can be found here and here.
Adam Pfleider on 02/24/11 - 01:29 PM
A few words on Max Bemis' (Say Anything) first night of his current solo tour can be seen here.
Adam Pfleider on 02/16/11 - 11:40 AM
A review of Murder By Death's 2011 winter tour can be seen here.
Adam Pfleider on 02/09/11 - 04:56 PM
An interview with The Get Up Kids can be read here. A review of their current tour can be read here.
QuoteEverybody wanted to make a really aggressive, sort of odd sounding record.
Adam Pfleider on 01/29/11 - 09:52 AM

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
AP.net Podcast on iTunes
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate