AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
On Saturday, I had the chance to check out Anberlin's final show in Philadelphia at the TLA. A sold out show made for an excellent night. Check out my write up and photo album in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 11/19/14 - 09:01 AM
Read our write up of the 11/15 Austin stop of Four Year Strong's "Go Down in History" Tour with Transit and Such Gold.
While I’m not really into Four Year Strong or the “easy-core” genre like I was when I was 16, I still had a great time at the show. The band just knows how to write hooks, gang vocals, and bring all the energy to the stage live. I had mixed feelings about Transit’s set similar to my mixed feelings about their albums. And then Such Gold managed to have even more energy live than on their albums, a great feat for such a young band. Regardless of what era of Four Year Strong you’re into – or even if you aren’t too into them anymore – their show is highly entertaining with...
Ryan Gardner on 11/17/14 - 11:09 AM
Read my review and check out of photos of GWAR's performance at Rock and Shock on Saturday with Life of Agony.
The members of GWAR are paying tribute to [Dave] Brockie the only way they know how: a killer rock show. Filled with monsters, metal and mayhem, it's exactly what he would have wanted. If you have the chance, support GWAR, the Slave Pit and Brockie's legacy by attending this tour. There's never a dull moment at a GWAR show - an understatement if there ever was one - but this one feels particularly special.
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/14 - 05:14 PM
Earlier this week, I had the pleasure of catching Jimmy Eat World on their 10 year anniversary tour for Futures in Kansas City. Check out my review of the night in the replies.
Although the tour wouldn't be hitting St. Louis, there was no question that I would be making the trek out to Kansas City to catch the band on their 10 year anniversary tour of the album that changed my life so many years ago. I had caught the band once before a few years back, and to say they put on a great live show would be a massive understatement. Couple that with the fact that Futures would be performed front to back, and a four hour drive both ways to Kansas City seemed more than worth it.
Jake Jenkins on 10/10/14 - 10:17 AM
And I'll tell you something else that you ain't dying enough to know. There's still some living left when your prime comes and goes.
Show ReviewsAgainst Me!, Jimmy Eat World, and The Gaslight Anthem [Photos] (Anthony Sorendino)
Staff InterviewsSenses Fail (Part Two) (Jake Denning)
Anthony Sorendino on 09/26/14 - 08:49 AM
If there is one thing I love in Austin, it's going to punk shows. The crowds are always some of the coolest people with the craziest stories. July 16th was no exception, especially with Lower Class Brats and The Applicators, The Casualties filled Red 7 with killer energy.
Formed in 1990, The Casualties took the stage with less umph than I’ve seen before but I think it’s because they were lacked the mohawk of frontman Jorge Herrera. The band tore through song after song of their enormous catalog, most of which is hardcore punk- so hardcore to the point that I can’t always understand what’s being said.
Caitlin DeWeese on 07/24/14 - 11:58 AM
"Oh boy, sleep! That's where I'm a Viking!"
Staff ReviewsWolves In The Throne Room - Celestite (Jake Jenkins)
Staff InterviewsThis Wild Life (Jake Denning)
The Summer Set (Jake Denning)
Show ReviewsThe Casualties, Lower Class Brats, The Applicators (Photos) (Caitlin DeWeese)
Jake Denning on 07/24/14 - 08:27 AM
Read my review and take a look at my photos from the Mansfield, MA stop of the 2014 Vans Warped Tour on July 10th. I caught such acts as Yellowcard, Every Time I Die, Four Year Strong, The Story So Far, K.Flay, Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties and many more.
The Vans Warped Tour celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, and a lot has changed in those two decades. One thing that has been consistent for the last several years is people complaining about the line-up. While it's undeniable that the tour's focus has shifted, the adaptation is an easy one to make. As with past years, the 2014 roster boats plenty of old favorites in addition to today's hot acts and up-and-comers.
Alex DiVincenzo on 07/14/14 - 04:31 PM
Someone talked through the best part, we'll have to start it again.
Staff ReviewMy Iron Lung - Relief (Zac Djamoos)
Staff InterviewsA Skylit Drive (Jake Denning)
Volumes (Jake Denning)
Show ReviewBrand New, Into It. Over It., Dinosaur Pile-Up (Jake Jenkins)
Other ContentAP.net Podcast: "Just Watch the Fireworks" (Jason Tate, Drew Beringer, Thomas Nassiff)
Zac Djamoos on 07/07/14 - 09:43 AM
This past Saturday, I got to see Brand New put on one hell of a set on their summer run with Into It. Over It. and Dinosaur Pile-Up at The Pageant in St. Louis. Hit the replies to read the full review of the show.
Unlike most bands that take their sweet time between releases and tours, Brand New never seem to run the risk of fading into irrelevancy, it just makes their fans hungrier.
Jake Jenkins on 07/07/14 - 08:00 AM
Cuz I'm a sinner, I've got no self control. I'm just a dog, so ugly and so old.
Show ReviewsDiarrhea Planet, Lee Bains and The Glory Fires, and The Midgetmen - Austin, Texas (Caitlin DeWeese)
Caitlin DeWeese on 06/28/14 - 04:10 PM
Austin, Texas has been on overload with killer shows this week, but Diarrhea Planet, Lee Bains and The Glory Fires, and local heroes The Midgetmen played a killer set to a packed house at Red 7 on June 27th. The venue was feeling hellishly hot, and most of the audience was soaked in sweat most likely not theirs, but no one seemed to give a crap. Hit the replies to read my full review of the show, as well as a photo gallery.
It’s hard not to wail when your band features four guitarists, a lone bassist, and a bad-ass drummer. Diarrhea Planet’s music falls somewhere between the wildness of older The Black Lips and classic Nashville Southern rock.
Caitlin DeWeese on 06/28/14 - 04:02 PM
Pegasus Festival happened outside of Dallas, Texas this weekend. This is the first festival for Ghostlight Concerts, and they did a decent job.The big draw was Brand New but in true Brand-New-style, there were a lot of let down fans. Luckily, Circa Survive, Bad Books, PM Today, and Residual Kid were there to save the day. Hit the replies to read my full review of the festival.
Brand New took one hundred years to actually take the stage and opened with "Sowing Season," followed by a lot of Daisy and D&G.
Caitlin DeWeese on 06/23/14 - 03:41 PM
Why do you talk so loud?
Show PhotosThe 1975 with Bad Suns - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsInsisting The Menzingers Are The Most Important Punk Band We Have Today (Thomas Nassiff)
Ryan Gardner on 06/02/14 - 09:25 AM
I saw The Menzingers on the second night of their headlining Rented World tour with Pup, Lemuria and Cayetana on Friday night at New York City's Webster Hall. Playing their biggest headlining show to date, the band put on an incredible performance with a near-perfect set list - check out my review in the replies.
What a band does on stage goes very far in determining whether they'll be a truly successful, A-list act. Writing a great record and having some hype around your name helps a band get to a place where they can go on good tours, play in bigger rooms and share their music with more people. Being a band that is more impressive on stage than on the record can help a group...
Thomas Nassiff on 06/02/14 - 09:18 AM
Read my review and check out my photos of Day 2 of the Boston Calling Music Festival, which featured performances from Death Cab For Cutie, The Decemberists, Frank Turner and more.
Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls may have put on the best performance of Boston Calling. The pace was set immediately as they opened with "Photosynthesis," in which Turner wailed on his trusty acoustic and guitarist Ben Lloyd ripped a solo on the electric mandolin. It was Turner's 1,568th show, as he proudly told the audience, but his boundless energy (perhaps owed to his hardcore roots) made it feel one-of-a-kind.
Alex DiVincenzo on 05/27/14 - 07:45 PM
Read our write up of the Austin 4/5 stop of Lydia's "Illuminate" tour with HRVRD and Golden Sun.
Just over five years old now, it’s no wonder Illuminate holds such a legacy behind it to so many people. As Lydia encored with three Devil cuts – “Devil,” “Knee Deep,” and “The Exit” – and Paint It Golden’s “Best Nights.” I realized how well the band can do both sides – the dark, atmospheric songs of Illuminate as well as the upbeat, spring soundtrack that is Devil. I find myself enjoying each of their records for a different reason, but Illuminate is the one that will always hold the most meaning to me. It holds more meaning to me than maybe any other record, and this night confirmed...
Ryan Gardner on 04/10/14 - 10:38 AM
And now the one you once loved is leaving.
Album ReviewsThe Boxer Rebellion - Promises (Anthony Sorendino)
Bobby Bare Jr. - Undefeated (Gregory Robson)
Fairweather - Fairweather (Zac Djamoos)
Direct Divide - Bridges (Craig Manning)
The Colourist - The Colourist (Gregory Robson)
YG - My Krazy Life (Jake Jenkins)
Show ReviewsLydia's "Illuminate" Tour w/ HRVRD and Golden Sun - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Staff InterviewBanner Pilot (Deborah Remus)
Ryan Gardner on 04/10/14 - 06:46 AM
Read our write up of the 3/23 Austin stop of La Dispute's "Rooms of the House" Tour with Pianos Become The Teeth and Mansions.
For the first time, I’m actually having a fairly hard time describing exactly what made this night and show so intense for me – aside form just the nature and content of the music, that is. Maybe it was the weather. Maybe it was that my hoodie wasn’t quite warm enough. Maybe it’s because I was at the show alone, which is rare. Whatever the reason, everything added up and the intensity and show just clicked. No matter what band you’re a fan of or what album or song catches your ear most, definitely go see this show if it comes near you.
Ryan Gardner on 03/26/14 - 02:40 PM
Read my review of Bayside's December 29th holiday show in Boston, MA with Man Overboard, Banquets and Modern Baseball.
Bayside have a huge year ahead of them, with the release of Cult on February 18th and a headlining tour kicking off in March, so it only made sense for them to end 2013 in a big way. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better way to end the year than watching Bayside rock a sold out crowd with a great line-up in tow.
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/31/13 - 10:00 AM
“You can’t just pick and choose which laws to follow. Sure I’d like to tape a baseball game without the express written consent of major league baseball, but that’s just not the way it works.”
Show ReviewsSwitchfoot - Newburg, OR (Jake Denning)
Trash Talk/Terror/Suicidal Tendencies - Portland, OR (Jake Denning)
Jake Denning on 12/19/13 - 01:43 PM
Read our write-up of the November 10th Austin stop of the Lydia tour with From Indian Lakes.
With From Indian Lakes having even more energy and emphasis live than on record and Lydia having a more upbeat atmosphere than normal, this show was definitely a memorable one. If you haven’t seen Lydia since Devil came out, I highly recommend trying to catch them soon, as the songs carry over quite well to the live setting – sing-alongs, people. I’m sure seeing the duo with The Maine and Anberlin was fantastic, but I was quite happy to be able to catch the two on their last night out following that tour.
Ryan Gardner on 11/14/13 - 03:00 PM
I think we were made too pretty.
Show ReviewsLydia with From Indian Lakes - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 11/14/13 - 09:19 AM
Read our write-up of the October 18th Austin stop of the AFI tour with Touché Amoré.
Looking back on AFI’s now 9 albums and I believe 10 EPs, it’s no wonder they have such a legacy. The new Burials is a solid album, proving they haven’t lost any part of their touch along the way. Not only have they experimented with their sound throughout each record, they have managed to keep quite a strong core fan base over the course of 20 years. That alone is something to be said, and this sold out show proved just that.
Ryan Gardner on 10/22/13 - 04:49 PM
We don't take to compliments, but please don't stop.
Album ReviewsPentimento - Inside The Sea EP (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsDanzig 25th Anniversary Tour w/ Doyle - Boston, MA (Alex DiVincenzo)
AFI with Touché Amoré - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/13 - 07:08 AM
Read my review of Joan Jett & The Blackhearts' surprise Unvarnished record release show at Santos Party House in New York, NY. You can also check out my photos.
Joan Jett is a bona fide rock and roll pioneer, icon and a future Hall of Famer. It was truly a treat to see her and the rest of The Blackhearts at such an intimate appearance - but I think it's safe to say that the show would have rocked just as hard regardless of the size of the venue. Unvarnished is classic Jett, and its release show followed suit.
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/04/13 - 02:05 PM
"She's a stranger that I used to know."
Staff ReviewsJustin Timberlake - The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 (Craig Manning)
Show ReviewsA Day To Remember, Pierce The Veil, All Time Low, The Wonder Years [Photos] - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Craig Manning on 10/01/13 - 07:41 AM
Check out our show review and photos of the Tegan and Sara September 13th Austin show with What's Eating Gilbert.
Talk about an unforgettable performance. I could talk in circles all day about how much emotion Tegan and Sara put into their live show, but you probably already know if you’re seen them or heard their records. 14 years in and the Quin sisters have truly never sounded better. Not to mention the perfect mix of old favorites and new tunes crafted the ideal set list. Between What’s Eating Gilbert’s always entertaining and rocking performance to Tegan and Sara’s unwavering chemistry, emotion, and control, this was a night for the books.
Ryan Gardner on 09/16/13 - 02:43 PM
"You 'loved life' and those words have lasted."
Show ReviewsTegan and Sara with What's Eating Gilbert - Austin, TX [Photos] (Ryan Gardner)
Retro ReviewsButch Walker Week: The Introduction (Craig Manning)
Butch Walker and the Black Widows - I Liked It Better When You Had No Heart (Craig Manning)
Ryan Gardner on 09/16/13 - 07:13 AM
Read our write up of the September 8th Austin stop of The Dangerous Summer's album release tour with Tommy & The High Pilots.
Whether you’re an old fan, casual listener, or just heard “Catholic Girls” and enjoyed it, this tour is definitely worth going to. The Dangerous Summer plays a great mix of material, while opener Tommy & The High Pilots heightens the bar for future live shows.
Ryan Gardner on 09/12/13 - 12:59 PM
"It felt like an earthquake when she'd shout."
Retro ReviewsButch Walker Week: The Introduction (Craig Manning)
Butch Walker - The Rise and Fall of Butch Walker and the Let's-Go-Out-Tonites! (Craig Manning)
Show ReviewsThe Dangerous Summer with Tommy & The High Pilots - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Contributor ReviewsLights & Caves - In Satori (Vance Mook)
Craig Manning on 09/12/13 - 07:27 AM
Check out my review of Longitude Festival 2013, featuring Vampire Weekend, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Japandroids, Foals, Phoenix and more here.
Kelly Doherty on 07/24/13 - 08:23 AM
Remember that night you were already in bed, said 'fuck it', got up and drank with me instead?
Show ReviewsLongitude Festival 2013: Day One (Kelly Doherty)
Longitude Festival 2013: Day Two (Kelly Doherty)
Longitude Festival 2013: Day Three (Kelly Doherty)
Kelly Doherty on 07/24/13 - 08:14 AM
Read our write up of the June 12th Austin stop of the Tigers Jaw, Pianos Become The Teeth, and Sainthood Reps tour here.
Aside from the fact that this is Tigers Jaw’s final tour for who knows how long, I think the diversity of this tour is what makes it stand out. Dad Punchers loud version of indie-rock fits very well with Tigers Jaw’s indie influence meets old-fashioned emo/pop-punk style. Sainthood Reps old-school distortion-using jams bring another flavor to the menu, while Pianos Become The Teeth emotion-infused hardcore tears apart the stage. Even though Tigers Jaw are calling it quits for now, their legacy won’t be left in the dark, as they’ve paved the way for many more bands to...
Ryan Gardner on 06/14/13 - 11:55 AM
Read our review of the June 11th Austin stop of The Front Bottoms "Talon Of The Hawk Tour" with Weatherbox here.
The quirkiness of the records transferred wonderfully to the live environment. People were stagediving, crowd surfing, running up on stage, spilling drinks, belting their lungs out. Handclaps and stomping galore occurred throughout the set. It was a mad house in a tiny room. Chaos of an environment mixed with the simplicity of the music. An unexpected match made in heaven? Not sure – but it worked. From the haunting ending of “Swimming Pool” through The Front Bottom’s true masterpiece that is “Twin Sized Mattress” and the song that probably made many of us fall in love with...
Ryan Gardner on 06/14/13 - 10:23 AM
Read our show review of the Dallas stop of the Say Anything "Rarities" Tour with Eisley, HRVRD, and Northern Faces here.
Whether you’re a fan of rare, old Say Anything cuts or just dig tracks from the self-titled and Anarchy records, this is the show for you. Having a little bit of everything – and more surprises – this has to be one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to. Northern Faces bring the gritty bluesy rock, HRVRD the theatrics, Eisley the intricate atmosphere, and Say Anything top it all off with their raw, punk-inspired nature. Clearly, Equal Vision Records continues to have one of the best lineups of any label today.
Ryan Gardner on 06/10/13 - 08:44 AM
Read my write up of last night's Austin stop of the Make Do And Mend tour with Diamond Youth here.
Yelling out lyrics like “I’m finding new ways to burn” during “Disassemble” and being able to hear one of my favorite lines of last blasted in my ears as Carroll yelled, “You can click your heels until you wear holes in the floor / And realize that no place feels like home anymore” on the penultimate “Stay In The Sun”…these are moments you don’t forget. This is why live music is so incredible. This is why you need to see this band live, as it makes you appreciate their records even more – if you can even believe that.
Ryan Gardner on 06/05/13 - 08:11 AM
You can read our review for the Winnipeg stop of the New Found Glory, Cartel and Living With Lions tour over here. This is NFG's first time touring across Western Canada so make sure you go to the remaining 4 shows if you live up here.
Deborah Remus on 05/27/13 - 11:11 AM
Read our show review of the April 26th Austin stop of The Gaslight Anthem's tour with Matt Mays. Be sure to check out photos from the show.
To me, The Gaslight Anthem just sounds like American rock music should. Listening to their records makes me wonder what it must have been like growing up in the 70s or 80s, and I can’t help but feel like this is the type of music my dad and his friends grew up listening to. Gaslight represent the new face of rock and roll music, and each member delivers exactly this on stage. Seeing the band live made me realize exactly why we all their songs so much – simpler, older times brought to life today. As one of the defining rock bands of our generation,...
Ryan Gardner on 04/29/13 - 08:25 AM
If I stop drinking all at once, I'm afraid the cumulative hangover will kill me.
Staff ReviewDaylight - Jar (Jason Gardner)
Tarantulahawk - Along With Ghosts EP (Kelly Doherty)
Show ReviewThe Gaslight Anthem with Matt Mays - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
ExclusivesValaska Video Premiere
Tiger Lily Video Premiere
Dear You Song Premiere
Jason Gardner on 04/28/13 - 10:12 PM
Read our show review of the April 14th Austin stop of Senses Fail's show with Such Gold, Real Friends, and Major League.
Over a decade in now and Senses Fail still deliver one hell of a live show. Here’s a band that really helped anchor our scene back in 04, and they’re still dominating today. Talk about seasoned professionals. And man can Buddy Nielsen scream his lungs out. If you can scream a song in Spanish (“Mi Amor”) and not miss a note, while still getting the crowd going while, I think you’re doing something exactly right. All the classics, from “Shark Attack” to “Lady in a Blue Dress” and the final “187,” sound even better ten years later, as Nielsen’s vocal abilities are...
Ryan Gardner on 04/16/13 - 08:50 AM
I went to go see Every Time I Die last night in Portland, OR, alongside some other great bands like The Acacia Strain. You can read my review here.
Jake Denning on 02/15/13 - 01:01 PM
Read our show review of the February 12th Austin stop of fun.'s show with Charlie Brand. You can check out the photos here.
Now, up until this point, I’ve wondered about the longevity of fun.’s insane fame. With Some Nights being – in my opinion – one of the best pop albums in the last 5+ years, the guys have a lot on their plates. However, coming off of 2 Grammys and an already-platinum record, I think it’s safe to say fun. are here to stay…for a long time. After seeing their live show, I am certain they’ll stay on top.
Ryan Gardner on 02/14/13 - 08:12 AM
You were always on mind, but I got an new partner now.
Staff ReviewsLocal Natives - Hummingbird (Kelly Doherty)
Tiny Moving Parts - This Couch Is Long And Full Of Friendship (Kelly Doherty)
Show ReviewsMax Bemis “Rarities” Release Show - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Kelly Doherty on 01/28/13 - 12:38 AM
"A George divided against itself, cannot stand"
Show ReviewsOf Mice & Men w/ Woe, Is Me, Texas In July, Volumes, Capture The Crown - Portland, OR, Hawthorne Theater (Jake Denning)
Jake Denning on 01/16/13 - 02:04 AM

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
AP.net Podcast on iTunes
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate