For the past month, Minus the Bear has been touring around the US for their Menos el Oso Tour. I caught the band, with supporting acts Murder by Death and Aero Flynn, at The Observatory OC last Friday night. Check the replies for some of my favorite highlights from the show and view the full gallery on our AbsolutePunk flickr!
Angelica Abalos on 11/24/15 - 02:22 PM
On Sunday I had the chance to see Knuckle Puck with the support of: Seaway, Sorority Noise, and Head North at the Theatre of the Living Arts in Philadelphia. Check out my write-up in the replies!
Shana Davidson on 11/20/15 - 07:06 AM
On Friday I had the chance to see New Found Glory co-headline with Yellowcard. It was a wildly nostalgic and rowdy Friday Night at a sold out Electric Factory in Philadelphia with support of: Tigers Jaw. Check out my write-up in the replies!
Shana Davidson on 10/26/15 - 08:56 AM
I was fortunate enough to attend the Electric Factory Philadelphia date of CHVRCHES fall tour supporting their new album Every Open Eye. Hit the replies to check out my review of the show as well as a few photos I took.
Craig Ismaili on 10/08/15 - 07:44 AM
Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending Riot Fest in Chicago, and while the weekend was a little imperfect it was nonetheless an amazing time filled with great music. I saw an enormous amount of bands, including Bayside, Thrice, Foxing, Doomtree, and many, many more. Hit the replies to read my experience at the festival.
Jake Jenkins on 09/17/15 - 12:15 PM
A few weeks ago I made my way to New Jersey for the Camden stop of the Vans Warped Tour. Beautiful weather made for an excellent day full of new discoveries. Check out my photos and a short write-up in the replies featuring Candy Hearts, Our Last Night, August Burns Red, Pvris, Pierce The Veil, and more!
Anthony Sorendino on 08/14/15 - 07:48 AM
Last week, I attended Motley Crue's sold-out performance in Eugene, OR at the Matthew Knight Arena, with special guest Alice Cooper. Head to the replies for my thoughts on the performance.
Jake Denning on 07/31/15 - 12:21 PM
Last week I had the chance to see Say Anything perform alongside a string quartet. It was an intimate Sunday night performance at Philadelphia's Electric Factory with a solid line-up of support: Modern Baseball, Cymbals Eat Guitars, and Hard Girls. Check out a write-up and some photos in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 07/17/15 - 10:29 AM
Last week I traveled to one of my favorite Philly venues, the Skyline Stage at the Mann Center, to check out All Time Low's Future Hearts Tour. The outdoor venue was met with perfect weather and a great crowd. Check out our photos and a review in the replies!
The show had witty banter, a teletubbie, an engagement, cover songs, a birthday celebration, and a ton of fans on stage. You can't ask for a better night than that. Bravo, All Time Low. Bravo.
Anthony Sorendino on 05/29/15 - 05:50 AM
"She's fresh to death. She'll be the death of you."
Show Reviews & PhotosThe Maine, Real Friends, & Knuckle Puck - Philadelphia, PA (Anthony Sorendino)
Anthony Sorendino on 05/15/15 - 07:36 AM
Last week (in spite of two traffic jams on I-95) I made it down to Philly's Electric Factory to see The Maine on the American Candy Tour. Real Friends and Knuckle Puck were out to support. Check out our photos and show review in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 05/14/15 - 08:10 AM
"She lit a fire but now she's in my every thought."
Show Reviews & PhotosLord Huron - Philadelphia, PA (Anthony Sorendino)
Anthony Sorendino on 05/06/15 - 11:38 AM
Last week I had the chance to check out Lord Huron play a bunch of tracks from their new album Strange Trails, along with some old favorites, to a packed house at Philly's Union Transfer. Check out my photos and show review in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 05/06/15 - 09:14 AM
Last week I got the chance to see Cartel perform Chroma in its entirety (plus some surprise favorites). Hit The Lights, Team, and Driver Friendly were all out to support. Take a trip back to 2005 and check out our photos and show review in the replies!
After "If I Fail," Will said, "I'm pretty sure the St. Patty's day show was completely blown out just now. This is probably the most fun I've had in ten years; I'm not kidding."
Anthony Sorendino on 04/23/15 - 07:16 AM
"Bob Marley was painted on my high-school walls. But I just disappeared into the darkroom hall."
Show Reviews & PhotosMat Kearney - Philadelphia, PA (Anthony Sorendino)
Anthony Sorendino on 04/02/15 - 11:28 AM
Last week I visited Philly's Union Transfer to catch Mat Kearney with support from Parachute and Judah and The Lion. Check out my show review and photos in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 04/02/15 - 06:09 AM
From Indian Lakes just started their full U.S. headliner for their album Absent Sounds last week, and I was able to catch the second date of the tour in Portland, OR. Head here to check out my thoughts on the tour.
Jake Denning on 03/30/15 - 10:59 AM
On Saturday I got the chance to catch Into It. Over It., Kevin Devine, and Laura Stevenson in the elusive sanctuary of the First Unitarian Church in Philly. Check out my write up and photo album in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 02/10/15 - 08:35 AM
Motion City Soundtrack is currently in the middle of its Commit This To Memory 10-year tour, and I was lucky enough to catch last week's show in New York City. In the replies you can read my review of the show, as well as some thoughts on how valuable it is to be able to view these old albums in a new light. Feel free to discuss the band's performance if you've already been to the tour as well!
Thomas Nassiff on 02/05/15 - 02:26 PM
Read my review and look at my pictures from Mae's The Everglow 10th anniversary tour stop in Worcester, MA. At the show, the band announced that they hope to have new material out later this year.
The Everglow 10th anniversary tour seems to be have rejuvenated Mae. While they have always been open to playing together again, they're officially working on new material now. Elkins told the audience that they would be taking the anniversary tour around the country later in the year and hope to have new music out before 2015 is over.
Alex DiVincenzo on 01/13/15 - 04:47 PM
On Saturday, I had the chance to check out Anberlin's final show in Philadelphia at the TLA. A sold out show made for an excellent night. Check out my write up and photo album in the replies!
Anthony Sorendino on 11/19/14 - 09:01 AM
Read our write up of the 11/15 Austin stop of Four Year Strong's "Go Down in History" Tour with Transit and Such Gold.
While I’m not really into Four Year Strong or the “easy-core” genre like I was when I was 16, I still had a great time at the show. The band just knows how to write hooks, gang vocals, and bring all the energy to the stage live. I had mixed feelings about Transit’s set similar to my mixed feelings about their albums. And then Such Gold managed to have even more energy live than on their albums, a great feat for such a young band. Regardless of what era of Four Year Strong you’re into – or even if you aren’t too into them anymore – their show is highly entertaining with...
Ryan Gardner on 11/17/14 - 11:09 AM
Read my review and check out of photos of GWAR's performance at Rock and Shock on Saturday with Life of Agony.
The members of GWAR are paying tribute to [Dave] Brockie the only way they know how: a killer rock show. Filled with monsters, metal and mayhem, it's exactly what he would have wanted. If you have the chance, support GWAR, the Slave Pit and Brockie's legacy by attending this tour. There's never a dull moment at a GWAR show - an understatement if there ever was one - but this one feels particularly special.
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/14 - 04:14 PM
Earlier this week, I had the pleasure of catching Jimmy Eat World on their 10 year anniversary tour for Futures in Kansas City. Check out my review of the night in the replies.
Although the tour wouldn't be hitting St. Louis, there was no question that I would be making the trek out to Kansas City to catch the band on their 10 year anniversary tour of the album that changed my life so many years ago. I had caught the band once before a few years back, and to say they put on a great live show would be a massive understatement. Couple that with the fact that Futures would be performed front to back, and a four hour drive both ways to Kansas City seemed more than worth it.
Jake Jenkins on 10/10/14 - 09:17 AM
And I'll tell you something else that you ain't dying enough to know. There's still some living left when your prime comes and goes.
Show ReviewsAgainst Me!, Jimmy Eat World, and The Gaslight Anthem [Photos] (Anthony Sorendino)
Staff InterviewsSenses Fail (Part Two) (Jake Denning)
Anthony Sorendino on 09/26/14 - 07:49 AM
If there is one thing I love in Austin, it's going to punk shows. The crowds are always some of the coolest people with the craziest stories. July 16th was no exception, especially with Lower Class Brats and The Applicators, The Casualties filled Red 7 with killer energy.
Formed in 1990, The Casualties took the stage with less umph than I’ve seen before but I think it’s because they were lacked the mohawk of frontman Jorge Herrera. The band tore through song after song of their enormous catalog, most of which is hardcore punk- so hardcore to the point that I can’t always understand what’s being said.
Caitlin DeWeese on 07/24/14 - 10:58 AM
"Oh boy, sleep! That's where I'm a Viking!"
Staff ReviewsWolves In The Throne Room - Celestite (Jake Jenkins)
Staff InterviewsThis Wild Life (Jake Denning)
The Summer Set (Jake Denning)
Show ReviewsThe Casualties, Lower Class Brats, The Applicators (Photos) (Caitlin DeWeese)
Jake Denning on 07/24/14 - 07:27 AM
Read my review and take a look at my photos from the Mansfield, MA stop of the 2014 Vans Warped Tour on July 10th. I caught such acts as Yellowcard, Every Time I Die, Four Year Strong, The Story So Far, K.Flay, Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties and many more.
The Vans Warped Tour celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, and a lot has changed in those two decades. One thing that has been consistent for the last several years is people complaining about the line-up. While it's undeniable that the tour's focus has shifted, the adaptation is an easy one to make. As with past years, the 2014 roster boats plenty of old favorites in addition to today's hot acts and up-and-comers.
Alex DiVincenzo on 07/14/14 - 03:31 PM
Someone talked through the best part, we'll have to start it again.
Staff ReviewMy Iron Lung - Relief (Zac Djamoos)
Staff InterviewsA Skylit Drive (Jake Denning)
Volumes (Jake Denning)
Show ReviewBrand New, Into It. Over It., Dinosaur Pile-Up (Jake Jenkins)
Other ContentAP.net Podcast: "Just Watch the Fireworks" (Jason Tate, Drew Beringer, Thomas Nassiff)
Zac Djamoos on 07/07/14 - 08:43 AM
This past Saturday, I got to see Brand New put on one hell of a set on their summer run with Into It. Over It. and Dinosaur Pile-Up at The Pageant in St. Louis. Hit the replies to read the full review of the show.
Unlike most bands that take their sweet time between releases and tours, Brand New never seem to run the risk of fading into irrelevancy, it just makes their fans hungrier.
Jake Jenkins on 07/07/14 - 07:00 AM
Cuz I'm a sinner, I've got no self control. I'm just a dog, so ugly and so old.
Show ReviewsDiarrhea Planet, Lee Bains and The Glory Fires, and The Midgetmen - Austin, Texas (Caitlin DeWeese)
Caitlin DeWeese on 06/28/14 - 03:10 PM
Austin, Texas has been on overload with killer shows this week, but Diarrhea Planet, Lee Bains and The Glory Fires, and local heroes The Midgetmen played a killer set to a packed house at Red 7 on June 27th. The venue was feeling hellishly hot, and most of the audience was soaked in sweat most likely not theirs, but no one seemed to give a crap. Hit the replies to read my full review of the show, as well as a photo gallery.
It’s hard not to wail when your band features four guitarists, a lone bassist, and a bad-ass drummer. Diarrhea Planet’s music falls somewhere between the wildness of older The Black Lips and classic Nashville Southern rock.
Caitlin DeWeese on 06/28/14 - 03:02 PM
Pegasus Festival happened outside of Dallas, Texas this weekend. This is the first festival for Ghostlight Concerts, and they did a decent job.The big draw was Brand New but in true Brand-New-style, there were a lot of let down fans. Luckily, Circa Survive, Bad Books, PM Today, and Residual Kid were there to save the day. Hit the replies to read my full review of the festival.
Brand New took one hundred years to actually take the stage and opened with "Sowing Season," followed by a lot of Daisy and D&G.
Caitlin DeWeese on 06/23/14 - 02:41 PM
Why do you talk so loud?
Show PhotosThe 1975 with Bad Suns - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsInsisting The Menzingers Are The Most Important Punk Band We Have Today (Thomas Nassiff)
Ryan Gardner on 06/02/14 - 08:25 AM
I saw The Menzingers on the second night of their headlining Rented World tour with Pup, Lemuria and Cayetana on Friday night at New York City's Webster Hall. Playing their biggest headlining show to date, the band put on an incredible performance with a near-perfect set list - check out my review in the replies.
What a band does on stage goes very far in determining whether they'll be a truly successful, A-list act. Writing a great record and having some hype around your name helps a band get to a place where they can go on good tours, play in bigger rooms and share their music with more people. Being a band that is more impressive on stage than on the record can help a group...
Thomas Nassiff on 06/02/14 - 08:18 AM
Read my review and check out my photos of Day 2 of the Boston Calling Music Festival, which featured performances from Death Cab For Cutie, The Decemberists, Frank Turner and more.
Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls may have put on the best performance of Boston Calling. The pace was set immediately as they opened with "Photosynthesis," in which Turner wailed on his trusty acoustic and guitarist Ben Lloyd ripped a solo on the electric mandolin. It was Turner's 1,568th show, as he proudly told the audience, but his boundless energy (perhaps owed to his hardcore roots) made it feel one-of-a-kind.
Alex DiVincenzo on 05/27/14 - 06:45 PM
Read our write up of the Austin 4/5 stop of Lydia's "Illuminate" tour with HRVRD and Golden Sun.
Just over five years old now, it’s no wonder Illuminate holds such a legacy behind it to so many people. As Lydia encored with three Devil cuts – “Devil,” “Knee Deep,” and “The Exit” – and Paint It Golden’s “Best Nights.” I realized how well the band can do both sides – the dark, atmospheric songs of Illuminate as well as the upbeat, spring soundtrack that is Devil. I find myself enjoying each of their records for a different reason, but Illuminate is the one that will always hold the most meaning to me. It holds more meaning to me than maybe any other record, and this night confirmed...
Ryan Gardner on 04/10/14 - 09:38 AM
And now the one you once loved is leaving.
Album ReviewsThe Boxer Rebellion - Promises (Anthony Sorendino)
Bobby Bare Jr. - Undefeated (Gregory Robson)
Fairweather - Fairweather (Zac Djamoos)
Direct Divide - Bridges (Craig Manning)
The Colourist - The Colourist (Gregory Robson)
YG - My Krazy Life (Jake Jenkins)
Show ReviewsLydia's "Illuminate" Tour w/ HRVRD and Golden Sun - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Staff InterviewBanner Pilot (Deborah Remus)
Ryan Gardner on 04/10/14 - 05:46 AM
Read our write up of the 3/23 Austin stop of La Dispute's "Rooms of the House" Tour with Pianos Become The Teeth and Mansions.
For the first time, I’m actually having a fairly hard time describing exactly what made this night and show so intense for me – aside form just the nature and content of the music, that is. Maybe it was the weather. Maybe it was that my hoodie wasn’t quite warm enough. Maybe it’s because I was at the show alone, which is rare. Whatever the reason, everything added up and the intensity and show just clicked. No matter what band you’re a fan of or what album or song catches your ear most, definitely go see this show if it comes near you.
Ryan Gardner on 03/26/14 - 01:40 PM
Read my review of Bayside's December 29th holiday show in Boston, MA with Man Overboard, Banquets and Modern Baseball.
Bayside have a huge year ahead of them, with the release of Cult on February 18th and a headlining tour kicking off in March, so it only made sense for them to end 2013 in a big way. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better way to end the year than watching Bayside rock a sold out crowd with a great line-up in tow.
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/31/13 - 10:00 AM
“You can’t just pick and choose which laws to follow. Sure I’d like to tape a baseball game without the express written consent of major league baseball, but that’s just not the way it works.”
Show ReviewsSwitchfoot - Newburg, OR (Jake Denning)
Trash Talk/Terror/Suicidal Tendencies - Portland, OR (Jake Denning)
Jake Denning on 12/19/13 - 01:43 PM
Read our write-up of the November 10th Austin stop of the Lydia tour with From Indian Lakes.
With From Indian Lakes having even more energy and emphasis live than on record and Lydia having a more upbeat atmosphere than normal, this show was definitely a memorable one. If you haven’t seen Lydia since Devil came out, I highly recommend trying to catch them soon, as the songs carry over quite well to the live setting – sing-alongs, people. I’m sure seeing the duo with The Maine and Anberlin was fantastic, but I was quite happy to be able to catch the two on their last night out following that tour.
Ryan Gardner on 11/14/13 - 03:00 PM
I think we were made too pretty.
Show ReviewsLydia with From Indian Lakes - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 11/14/13 - 09:19 AM
Read our write-up of the October 18th Austin stop of the AFI tour with Touché Amoré.
Looking back on AFI’s now 9 albums and I believe 10 EPs, it’s no wonder they have such a legacy. The new Burials is a solid album, proving they haven’t lost any part of their touch along the way. Not only have they experimented with their sound throughout each record, they have managed to keep quite a strong core fan base over the course of 20 years. That alone is something to be said, and this sold out show proved just that.
Ryan Gardner on 10/22/13 - 03:49 PM
We don't take to compliments, but please don't stop.
Album ReviewsPentimento - Inside The Sea EP (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsDanzig 25th Anniversary Tour w/ Doyle - Boston, MA (Alex DiVincenzo)
AFI with Touché Amoré - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/13 - 06:08 AM

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
Encore Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
Encore Podcast on iTunes
Encore on Overcast
AP.net on Tumblr
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate