METZ will release their new album entitled, ll, on May 5th via Sub Pop Records. Head to the replies to stream a new song called "Acetate."

Track Listing
01) Acetate
02) The Swimmer
03) Spit You Out
04) Zzyzx
05) IOU
06) Landfill
07) Nervous System
08) Wait in Line
09) Eyes Peeled
10) Kicking a Can of Worms
Keagan Ilvonen on 02/17/15 - 04:17 PM
Sarah Silverman will release her new album, We Are Miracles, on September 23rd via Sub Pop Records. The audio is taken from Sarah's emmy-nominated headline special for HBO. You can listen to her bit "Planting the Seeds of Insecurity" in the replies.

Track Listing
01) Nighttime Rituals
02) Speaking of Cum My Mother’s Been Sick
03) Killing Jesus
04) Planting the Seeds of Insecurity
05) Looking Inward
06) A Heartbreaking Story
07) Rape Jokes Comedy’s Hidden Gem
08) Muster
09) Senator Obama
10) Human Puppies
11) Diva
Keagan Ilvonen on 07/22/14 - 11:14 AM
Sup Pop Records have launched a new digital subscription service.
For a monthly fee of $10, Sub Pop fans will receive new releases, singles, and other exclusives from the label. Digital audio for all Sub Pop releases through the service will be available in 320 kbps or WAV with no DRM restrictions. The service is also available worldwide.
Jason Tate on 06/18/14 - 06:28 PM
Avi Buffalo will release their new album, At Best Cuckold, on September 9th via Sub Pop Records. Jump to the replies to stream the band's new single, "So What."

Track Listing
01) So What
02) Memories of You
03) Can't Be Too Responsible
04) Two Cherished Understandings
05) Overwhelmed with Pride
06) Found Blind
07) She Is Seventeen
08) Think It's Gonna Happen Again
09) Oxygen Tank
10) Won't Be Around No More
Keagan Ilvonen on 06/03/14 - 07:23 AM
Billboard's profile of Dana Giacchetto reveals that Microsoft once made a (very low) bid for Sub-Pop Records.
Giacchetto says his greatest deal was the 1994 Sub Pop sale to Warner. "I can now reveal that Universal was the top bidder, $25 million," says Giacchetto, "but it wasn't the right creative fit. Sony Music bid $5 million. David Geffen bid $8 million -- I told him his bid was way too f-ing low - and Microsoft bid a paltry $4 million, frankly insulting. Bill Gates, who at the time considered himself to be 'the future of entertainment,' couldn't have been a more dull character. It definitely would have made Microsoft a bit more hip, which in hindsight might have actually made...
Jason Tate on 04/24/14 - 10:58 AM
Thumpers have signed with Sub Pop Records.
Jason Tate on 01/17/14 - 01:48 PM
Mogwai will release Rave Tapes on January 21 via Sub Pop. A song from the effort, "Remurdered," is streaming in the replies, where you will also find the artwork.

Track Listing
01) Heard About You Last Night
02) Simon Ferocious
03) Remurdered
04) Hexon Bogon
05) Repelish
06) Master Card
07) Deesh
08) Blues Hour
09) No Medecine For Regret
10) The Lord Is Out Of Control
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/28/13 - 11:48 AM
Shearwater will release their new reinventions and collaborations album, Fellow Travelers, on November 26th via Sub Pop Records. You can stream their cover of "I Luv the Valley Oh!!" in the replies.

Track Listing
01) “Our Only Sun” – a fragment of the song “Deeper Devastation,” by Jesca Hoop
02) “I Luv the Valley OH!!” – Xiu Xiu
03) “Hurts Like Heaven” – Coldplay
04) “To Be of Use” – Smog
05) “Natural One” – Folk Implosion
06) “Ambiguity” – David Thomas Broughton
07) “Cheerleader” – St. Vincent
08) “Tomorrow” – Clinic
09) “A Wake for the Minotaur” – Shearwater & Sharon Van Etten
10) “Mary is Mary” – Wye Oak
11) “Fucked Up Life” - The Baptist Generals
Keagan Ilvonen on 08/27/13 - 11:15 PM
Sub Pop Records posted a scan of Nirvana's original contract on their Tumblr account. Check it out in the replies, and make note of the pittance of an advance the band received prior to recording Bleach ($600).
Chris Collum on 08/21/13 - 12:07 PM
Washed Out will release Paracosm on August 13th, 2013 via Sub Pop Records. You can watch the official album trailer in the replies.
Keagan Ilvonen on 05/23/13 - 09:38 AM
Sub Pop Records will release Mogwai’s soundtrack for Les Revenants, the French supernatural thriller and most popular TV series in Canal + history, on February 26th, 2013. You can stream a new song entitled, "Wizard Motor," in the replies.

Track Listing
01) Hungry Face
02) Jaguar
03) The Huts
04) Kill Jester
05) This Messiah Needs Watching
06) Whisky Time
07) Special N
08) Relative Hysteria
09) Fridge Magic
10) Portugal
11) Eagle Tax
12) Modern
13) What Are They Doing in Heaven Today?
14) Wizard Motor
Keagan Ilvonen on 02/08/13 - 08:21 PM
Dum Dum Girls will release their new album, Only In Dreams, on September 27 via Sub Pop. Head to the replies to see the tracklisting and tour dates.
Kyle Huntington on 06/30/11 - 07:30 PM
Mogwai have signed to Sub Pop for North America. The band will release a new album in early 2011.
Alex DiVincenzo on 09/13/10 - 11:02 AM
Progressive hip-hop group Shabazz Palaces has been signed to Sub Pop Records. Their debut full-length is expected to drop sometime next year.

Submitted by deadkidsean
Ian Walker on 09/02/10 - 09:44 PM
No Age will release Everything In Between on September 28th through Sub Pop Records.

01 Life Prowler
02 Glitter
03 Fever Dreaming
04 Depletion
05 Common Heat
06 Skinned
07 Katerpillar
08 Valley Hump Crash
09 Sorts
10 Dusted
11 Positive Amputation
12 Shred and Transcend
13 Chem Trails
Blake Solomon on 06/25/10 - 09:31 AM
Sub Pop Records have signed California's Papercuts.
Alex DiVincenzo on 03/31/10 - 02:31 PM
Sub Pop Records plans to release a deluxe edition of Red Red Meat's album Bunny Gets Paid on March 24th. The album was originally released in 1995 and has been out of print for several years. Go here to pre-order the album and read more about it.
Lueda Alia on 02/05/09 - 02:28 PM
The entire Sub Pop Records catalog is on sale at Amazon MP3.
Julia Conny on 07/28/08 - 01:04 AM
In this week's Bigger Than the Sound, James Montgomery lists the best 20-something records in the Sub-Pop Records' 20-year history. Sunny Day Real Estate, Band of Horses, and, of course, Nirvana are among the bands on this list.
Anton Djamoos on 07/09/08 - 09:53 AM
Blender has posted an abridged history of Sub Pop Records. Check it out here.
From the ArticleBruce Pavitt (Sub Pop co-founder): I was at a party next door to my house when I got this intuitive feeling, like, I really gotta go back home. Right as I did that, [Nirvana bassist] Krist Novoselic was walking up my stairway. He's inebriated and he's intimidating and he's demanding a contract. It was very scary. I called up (Jonathan) Poneman and said, "I know we don't have contracts on any bands, but we need to get this guy one."
Anton Djamoos on 06/11/08 - 04:34 PM
Band of Horses will release their forthcoming, full-length effort, Cease to Begin, on October 9th courtesy of Sub Pop Records. The artwork can be seen in the replies.

Track List
01. Is There a Ghost
02. Ode to LRC
03. No One's Gonna Love You
04. Detlef Schrempf
05. The General Specific
06. Lamb on the Lam (in the City)
07. Islands on the Coast
08. Marry Song
09. Cigarettes, Wedding Bands
10. Window Blues

Submitted by ryan_c_
Brandon Allin on 09/18/07 - 07:17 AM

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
AP.net Podcast on iTunes
AP.net Podcast on Overcast
AP.net on Tumblr
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate