AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
Stream "Ten Days" from Traditions over at Under The Gun Review.
Christian Wagner on 02/05/14 - 12:19 PM
In memory of Elliott Smith, Under The Gun Review made a list of ten songs to remember him by.
Drew Beringer on 10/22/13 - 01:31 PM
Under The Gun Review is premiering the debut album from Anacondas titled Sub Contra Blue. The album hits stores next Tuesday.
Drew Beringer on 10/11/13 - 12:16 PM
Under The Gun recently spoke with Jonny Craig. They talked about Emarosa and the band's new singer, his solo music, and a visit from his dad on his current tour.
I mean, I donít really know the kid so I donít really care. I watched some videos of him on tour with his old band and shit. It was cool. Heís got a good voice so itís not like heís not going to be able to fill the shoes, or however you want to put it, but I mean I canít really expect anyone to ever be able to cover the songs that I wrote and actually have me ever like it. Ya know? It doesnít matter if itís good or not, Iím still not going to like it.
Drew Beringer on 10/08/13 - 03:54 PM
In preparing to say goodbye to Go Radio, UTG asked a bunch of industry people to write about their favorite Go Radio track.
Drew Beringer on 10/07/13 - 11:02 AM
Under The Gun has posted its list of "Essential Halloween Songs. The site's "31 Days of Halloween" special is still ongoing, highlighting a new horror classic each day.
Drew Beringer on 10/03/13 - 12:51 PM
Under The Gun has a new interview with actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt about his new film (and directorial debut), Don Jon.
Drew Beringer on 09/25/13 - 02:03 AM
When Under The Gun interviewed Bert McCracken (The Used) on Warped Tour, he mentioned a bracelet he was wearing to support a sick child in need. After the site ran the piece the boy's father contacted UTG, and today UTG is running the story of his son and his first journey to Warped Tour.
Drew Beringer on 09/10/13 - 12:57 PM
You can check out the artwork and track listing for Stages & Stereos upcoming EP, Small Town Favorites, at Under The Gun.
Drew Beringer on 09/04/13 - 10:51 AM
Under The Gun has released a live studio video of Strawberry Girls performing "Negro Spiritual." The band will be re-releasing French Ghetto on October 1st via Tragic Hero Records.
Drew Beringer on 09/03/13 - 11:11 AM
You can check out a recent interview Under The Gun did with Bill Stevenson (The Descendents) here.
Itís in the embryonic stages. I have my studio, The Blasting Room, Stephen lives in Tulsa, and he has a studio too. Milo even has a real small recording apparatus in his basement. Karl still lives by me. So I went in a couple of weeks ago and recorded, so we got 11 songs done, just the drums. Weíll be passing those around, Stephen will be putting guitars on Ďem, Karl will be putting bass on Ďem, Milo will be singing on Ďem. Weíll get rolling but itís not gonna be like ďOh itíll be done in a month!Ē Itís gonna take us several months.
Drew Beringer on 08/06/13 - 06:38 PM
You can check out Under The Gun's recent interview with Doug Benson here.
Well, since Iíve based two movies on Morgan Spurlock films, I gotta keep going, right? He made a film about Comic-Con in San Diego, so my next movie is going to be called Chronic-Con. Iím not kidding. Although I donít know what to do with the One Direction concert film that Spurlock directed. Might have to come up with my own ideas
Drew Beringer on 07/09/13 - 01:55 PM
Under The Gun has posted its list of 10 Albums from the first half of 2013 that you may have missed and need to hear now. Check it out here.
Drew Beringer on 07/08/13 - 11:59 AM
Under The Gun has an exclusive track-by-track breakdown of The Spacepimps' new album, Eternal Boy, here.
Drew Beringer on 07/03/13 - 12:45 PM
Under The Gun has posted a list of its most essential songs for summer 2013. Check it out here.
Drew Beringer on 06/24/13 - 11:27 AM
Under The Gun have posted a new editorial in which they question Jay-Z's partnership with Samsung.
Drew Beringer on 06/17/13 - 10:09 AM
Under The Gun have posted a new editorial in which they put its beef with Falling In Reverse and Ronnie Radke to rest.
Drew Beringer on 06/13/13 - 04:17 PM
Under The Gun is streaming the new A Wolf. A Liar. EP, Persevere, here.
Drew Beringer on 06/10/13 - 01:05 PM
You can read Under The Gun Review's recent interview with Will Pugh (Cartel) here.
Oh, absolutely. Weíve been talking around that idea for probably the last year or so. Like, ďAre we going to do a Chroma tour now or are we going to wait until 10 years?Ē You know, this is the tenth year of Cartel. In October it will be ten years since we recorded The Ransom EP. So we thought ďWell could we get away with just a ten year anniversary? Weíd just play Chroma and a collection of other stuff. What are we going to do?Ē So we said, ďscrew it, weíll just wait.Ē Weíre close enough. Itíll definitely happen.
Drew Beringer on 06/06/13 - 01:26 PM
Under The Gun Review has posted a list of the 10 'Need-To-Know' Songs from the recently released 2013 Warped Tour comp.
Drew Beringer on 06/04/13 - 06:25 PM
Under The Gun Review wrote an editorial on how comedian Dane Cook made the One Fund Boston Benefit all about himself.
Drew Beringer on 05/31/13 - 01:51 PM
In a recent interview, Alesana informed Under The Gun that they were no longer a part of Epitaph Records.
Drew Beringer on 05/08/13 - 02:02 PM
Under The Gun is exclusively streaming the debut EP from Boston folk rock band Grey Season here.
Drew Beringer on 05/01/13 - 09:08 AM
You can read Under The Gun's recent interview with Daniel Taylor of Surrogate here.
The downside of it though, is that it sort of marginalizes what you do, because thereís not the credibility of being on a label, or the push that a label gives you to help you breakthrough to press and blogs. So you kind of get lumped in with the unwashed masses of bedroom bands and high school garage bands, which is fine: thereís a lot of amazing music being made these days in bedrooms and by teenagers in garages. But in terms of trying to gain any sort of broad exposure for your band, especially when your band is just a bunch of late-20s/early-30s beardos, not having a label to hang your hat on makes it...
Drew Beringer on 04/29/13 - 01:37 PM
The Venetia Fair's Michael Abiuso covered The Gay Blades "Shake The Graves" to benefit The One Fund Boston, which you can hear exclusively at Under The Gun.
Drew Beringer on 04/27/13 - 04:55 PM
With the sad demise of AOL Music and Spinner today, Under The Gun has listed its favorite AOL Undercover Sessions here.
Drew Beringer on 04/26/13 - 02:08 PM
Skinny Lister has posted its second tour blog over at Under The Gun. Check it out here.
Drew Beringer on 04/19/13 - 01:56 PM
Skinny Lister has posted its first tour blog over at Under The Gun. Check it out here.
Drew Beringer on 04/16/13 - 11:57 AM
Under The Gun has another album stream today - this time premiering the new Valaska album, Natural Habitat, here. The album was produced by Aaron Marsh.
Drew Beringer on 04/09/13 - 02:13 PM
Under The Gun is streaming Apparitions new album, Kiss Me Sleeping, here.
Drew Beringer on 04/09/13 - 11:14 AM
Under The Gun wrote a fantastic piece about the legacy of My Chemical Romance. Read it here.
Humanism is something that lingered throughout the bandís work. I could write entire dissertations on Revenge, my favourite album, which for all its frenzied, explosive pace is at heart a response to the loss of the Waysí grandmother. The lyrics, music and imagery on that album seared right into my soul as soon as I heard it Ė itís like hearing a comic book on record, replete with all the atmospheric intensity and noir sophistication of visceral art. For me, nothing will ever top the guttural, breathtaking verse at the end of my favourite song, ďItís Not A Fashion Statement, Itís A Fucking...
Drew Beringer on 03/28/13 - 03:04 PM
Under The Gun is premiering States Away's new EP, Like The Weather, here.
Drew Beringer on 03/27/13 - 12:18 PM
Under The Gun is premiering a new song from Envoi here.
Drew Beringer on 03/26/13 - 09:41 AM
Under The Gun has unveiled a new feature called "Chords and Canvas" - a feature dedicated to highlighting the efforts of those who dabble in the visual arts in addition to their work in music. To kickoff the column, they have an interview with Jordan Buckley (Every Time I Die) about his clothing line, design work, and more. Check it out here.
Iíd watch cartoons, and I would just kind of likeÖ I would want to make them because there werenít any limitations. Even at a young age, I didnít see limitations. Like a cartoon could be of anythingÖ Literally. I know Iíve been using that word a lot, but I try to only use it when itís correct, so that I emphasize. A cartoon could be anything, and...
Drew Beringer on 03/25/13 - 03:35 PM
Under The Gun TV has an exclusive video of Twin Falls performing a brand new song here.
Drew Beringer on 03/19/13 - 12:22 PM
Under The Gun recently spoke with Cody Votolato (Blood Brothers) about the 10 year anniversary of Burn, Piano Island, Burn and much more.
Honestly, I think everything is possible, but I do not think itís something that is totally likely in the near future. It comes up every once in while, with people asking us if we plan to return, or offers come in reunite, but it never seems to be the right time. Everyone has other stuff going on, but I think that it is something that could eventually happen. Iím not sure how much older we could get and still do it though [laughs]. An older version of Blood Brothers? Iím not sure that would be any good. Anything is possible though.
Drew Beringer on 03/04/13 - 11:25 AM
Under The Gun is streaming a new Pyro, Ohio song titled "Before The Sun Sets..." here.
Drew Beringer on 02/14/13 - 11:36 AM
Under The Gun a new "Complaint Department" column up today titled "Death to Vinyl Flippers." Check it out here.
Drew Beringer on 02/07/13 - 10:59 AM
Under The Gun recently interviewed William Control (Aiden) and talked about writing two novels, his upcoming solo album, and his band's new album.
There will be one more Aiden album, mainly because I feel I left things on such a cliff in the midst of finishing our contract with Victory (Records). And like I said, Iím not the same kid that started Aiden anymore, but I do love Aiden and jumping around on stage. Itís a young manís game though, and Iím not a young man anymore, you know? Warped Tour is a young manís game. I want to appease the audience that has been with me and followed us for so long, but at the same time I feel sort of like a liar singing those songs on stage that I wrote...
Drew Beringer on 01/31/13 - 12:07 PM
Under The Gun Review has posted its "5 Artists To Watch in 2013" list here.
Drew Beringer on 01/28/13 - 09:52 AM
Want to win a t-shirt from Tegan and Sara along with an autographed copy of their new record Heartthrob? Head over to Under The Gun for more details.
Christian Wagner on 01/25/13 - 06:54 AM
You can check out Under The Gun's recent interview with Breathe Carolina here. They talked about the band's upcoming new album and tour plans for the spring.
From The InterviewI think it's [a continuation of] an evolution that we've just taken. We never sat down and planned anything out, we just write everything write itself and let brains or our emotions take off. I think what fans can expect is the same Breathe Carolina sound, dancey and fun, but we're also going to bring back a lot of the, not obviously hardcore because we have been hardcore, but you know, heavier pop. We want it to play from beginning to end like a raging party. The kind of album you can put on at a house party and...
Drew Beringer on 01/18/13 - 01:07 PM
Under The Gun recently sat down with Aaron Gillespie (The Almost) to discuss the band's upcoming new album.
From The InterviewNo. I mean, I love his records and I kind of want to go back and do a record with Aaron (Sprinkle) again. After youíve used a producer for a certain amount of time, you should switch just toĖ You know, itís like going to the same restaurant over and over again, and getting the same thing. Every once in a while, you kind of want to get something different just to try it. You know what I mean? So thatís what we did.
Drew Beringer on 01/11/13 - 02:23 PM
Under The Gun is streaming Young Alive's latest EP American Gentlemen here.
Drew Beringer on 11/30/12 - 10:51 AM
Under The Gun is exclusively streaming The Deep North's new self-titled EP here.
Drew Beringer on 11/13/12 - 11:36 AM

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Articles
CONNECT
Submit News
Forums
Contests
Mobile Version
AP.net Logos
HIDDEN TREASURES
AbsolutePunk Podcast
Free Music
Sports Forum
Technology Forum
Recommendations
INFORMATION
Advertising
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook | RSS
PropertyOfZack
UnderTheGun
Purevolume
Chorus.fm | @jason_tate