The Charts


Location:..., Other (England)
Genres:Rock / Alternative
Record Label:Sony
423 Fans
Buy the Music
Latest News
NewsIan Watkins Seeks Leave to Appeal Length of...
Ian Watkins (Lostprophets) has applied to appeal the length of his prision sentence. Paedophile...
NewsIan Watkins Sentenced To 35 Years In Prison
Ex-Lostprophets singer, Ian Watkins, faced his sentencing for child sex offences today and received...
NewsIan Watkins Isn't Seeing Lostprofits
A music lawyer estimates that Ian Watkins has probably made upwards of 100k ($163,040) since his...
NewsEx-Lostprophets Release Statement
The other members of Lostprophets have released a statement after the legal events of last...
NewsWho Decides if the Sins of the Artist...
The Guardian have run an interesting article about what happens when the sins of an artist are so...
InterviewLostprophets - 06.14.12
Posted by Andy Biddulph on 06/19/12
Album ReviewLostprophets - The Betrayed
Posted by Jared George on 01/15/10
InterviewIlan Rubin (NIN, Lostprophets, The New...
Posted by Steve Henderson on 12/17/08
Multimedia3 Gallery Images
The Billboard

AbsoluteAccess: Lostprophets
(video link beneath band image or scroll down to the comments for embedded player)

Lostprophets frontman Ian Watkins and guitarist Mike Lewis grew up together in the Cardiff satellite town of Pontypridd. They began blending musical genres as members of the band Public Disturbance. Watkins was a drummer at the time, but he moved to vocals when the pair first started experimenting as Lozt Prophetz. Watkins and Lewis flirted with ska and hip-hop at first, then came to an aggressive style of rock that mixed together their longtime love of metal and pop. They also changed the spelling to Lostprophets and added Lee Gaze (guitar), Stuart Richardson (bass), and Mike Chiplin (drums) to the lineup.

After Lostprophets' demo was featured in Kerrang! magazine, U.K. independent label Visible Noise offered them an album deal in 2000. That year's The Fake Sound of Progress was recorded over the course of a week for roughly $4,000. Hitting the road to promote the album, the band played support slots with Linea 77, Taproot, Pitchshifter, Linkin Park, and the Deftones, and a huge show at the 2001 Reading Festival helped the fan base grow. Keyboardist Jamie Oliver joined the band to expand its sound, and Sony signed the band in the U.S., releasing a different version of The Fake Sound of Progress in 2001, one that had been remixed and "retooled" by famed producer Michael Barbiero. A North American tour followed.

The album's successor, 2004's Start Something, proved that all the gigging had paid off. It debuted at number five on the U.K. charts and reached number 33 on the Billboard Top 200 despite having been leaked early on the Internet. More touring followed, including a sold-out show at the giant Cardiff International Arena and a main-stage performance at the 2004 Reading Festival. In 2005 the bandmembers were considering different producers for their third effort before deciding on Bob Rock, the man responsible for Metallica's self-titled "Black Album." Drummer Chiplin departed so Rock and the band recruited drummer Josh Freese -- who had worked with A Perfect Circle, Rob Zombie, and many others -- for recording sessions. The completed album, Liberation Transmission, was released at the beginning of summer 2006.

- David Jeffries, Allmusic.com
Similar Artists
Last Updated: 04/01/08
Profile Tools
Share This Profile  Share This Profile

Search News
Release Dates
Best New Music
Submit News
Mobile Version
Banners, Flyers, Widgets
Free Music
Video News
Sports Forum
AP.net Related News
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Twitter | Facebook