AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
AP.net Related News
Hint: Have a news tip? Submit us news.
AP.net Related
Inside AP.net

Community Advice: How To Avoid The Most Common Story I...

Posted by: Jason Tate (01/25/12)
I can't even count how many bands have told me some version of the "we signed with a label, then there was a 'restructuring,' and the main A&R/advocate for our band left ... and then we had no one championing our band at the label, and we went unnoticed" story. Most of the time this is after the band has either left and returned to a smaller label (buzz from the release that got them on a more major player mostly gone) or have broken up. Now, I'm not an entertainment lawyer - so I have no fucking clue what you could do to avoid this kind of situation. But, I'm curious if there are any artists/industry people that have any advice to avoid this? Is it just an occupational hazard of being in a band? You can't tie your contract to your A&R or something can you?

Displaying posts 1 - 15 of 35
10:18 AM on 01/25/12
live4music
Digitally Bathing
User Info.
A lot of times you can go on websites like digitalmusicnews and try to look at labels that are on steady ground. Several of the major labels are all going through constant shuffles at the moment so really there is no telling at this current point in time in the music industry. It happened to my friends Vedera when Amanda Ghost drove Epic Records into the ground before she got fired.
10:35 AM on 01/25/12
treytooknotice
@treycoook
User Info.
You can attempt to tie your contract to anything the label will agree with before you sign. Most importantly, get things in writing. Second most important, make sure you work with a label that you find to be full of genuinely great people who care about you not only as an artist / band but as human beings.