Username
Password

09:23 AM on 12/17/12 
User Info.
mattplayscheap
plays with squirrels
New Hyde Park, NY
Male - 26 Years Old
As a musician, I try to keep my beliefs and music as separated.
Although I have a faith that I strongly believe in; I cannot say I practice as much as expected by most
other followers. I often think about whether my music is somehow effected by my beliefs and in what way.
There are times when I do feel like it grounds me and keeps me from getting full of myself and staying clear headed.

I'm always interested to hear what other people think or feel about this and what effects their beliefs do or do not have.
I'm also always interested to hear those who don't believe and their side on this topic.
09:36 AM on 12/17/12 
User Info.
Jake Gyllenhaal
There was a fish in the percolator
Twin Peaks
Male
Not sure what your intention is with your music, but injecting religious faith into music and art is a terrific money maker. There's always a huge market out there.
09:47 AM on 12/17/12 
User Info.
perceptrons
[ ]
I'm not religious or a believer whatsoever, but I'm OK with music with spiritual lyrics (e.g. Mumford and Sons, Dustin Kensrue), as long as it isn't worship-y.
11:09 AM on 12/17/12 
User Info.
NewAgeofHorus
Great Barrier Reef
Male - 22 Years Old
I would call myself more of a man of faith than "religious" but I think it all depends on the artist's target audience. I'm sure a lot of musician don't mention their religion due to possibly causing separation to their fan base and some use music for their religious messages.

I'll put lyrics around my faith in a song if it seems appropriate for the concept but I wouldn't ever bash anyone else's religion which is somewhat of a trend these days.
12:13 PM on 12/17/12 
User Info.
cityian
The Ghetto
Male
If I feel that something I'm writing about has to do with my faith, I'll incorporate it into a song/whatever, but I definitely don't force it in everything I'm writing just because it's what I believe.