Username
Password
Birthdays News
Hint: Have a news tip? Submit us news.
Birthdays
Inside AP.net

Happy 10th Birthday, iTunes

Posted by: Jack Appleby (04/28/13)
The iTunes Music Store opened for business 10 years ago today. Check out some milestones from their last decade here.

Displaying posts 1 - 15 of 21
07:00 PM on 04/28/13
Jason Tate
User Info.
Impressive.
07:06 PM on 04/28/13
Amongster
Still On The Sand
User Info.
I can't believe it took four years to introduce the 'Complete My Album' feature.
07:47 PM on 04/28/13
sammyboy516
User Info.
I would've guessed iTunes was a lot older than 10 years. Weird.
07:59 PM on 04/28/13
butrfli1234
I'M ON FIRE
User Info.
I remember downloading that The Fray song for free. Wow.
08:00 PM on 04/28/13
cubsml34
A Class 3 KILLSTORM
User Info.
Considering I started playing guitar in the fall of 2004, I'm now realizing how integral the iTunes store was in shaping my initial musical tastes. I remember just browsing for hours and hours listening to clips of songs that were recommended for bands that I liked like the Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains etc... I remember finding bands like Hum and Candlebox that way, and then eventually somehow graduating towards bands like A.F.I., Rise Against, A7X, Atreyu, and Bullet for My Valentine. Those led me to Silverstein, was maybe the most important band is shaping my musical tastes. It seems really stupid initially how iTunes led me to all of this, but then I remembered i was only 11 and 12 and so it started making sense haha.
08:03 PM on 04/28/13
jordalsh
twitter.com/Jordalsh
User Info.
wow really? I still remember the first record I bought on iTunes. I definitely prefer Amazon mp3 or physical, but there's no denying the impact they've had.
08:07 PM on 04/28/13
Supernova
Stuck In An Elevator
User Info.