AbsolutePunk.net
   Username
Password
Tom put all of my records into this rectangle.
Staff ReviewsAgainst Me! - Transgender Dysphoria Blues (Drew Beringer)
A Balance Between - Negative Space (Zac Djamoos)
Gumshen - Progtronica (Craig Manning)
Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit (Jonathan Bautts)
Drew Beringer on 01/24/14 - 02:06 AM
"Your tells are so obvious."
ReviewsSecond Story - Not The Same As Last Year EP (Ryan Gardner)
Lakefield - Swan Song (Craig Manning)
Blitz Kids - The Good Youth (Andy Biddulph)
Abram Shook - Sun Marquee (Gregory Robson)
Young the Giant - Mind Over Matter (Gregory Robson)
The Past (Jonathan Bautts)
InterviewThe Lawrence Arms (Deborah Remus)
Ryan Gardner on 01/22/14 - 07:40 AM
Oh I think I'm getting a text message...bloop
Staff ReviewsYou Blew It! - Keep Doing What You're Doing (Drew Beringer)
Death on Two Wheels - Death on Two Wheels (Gregory Robson)
Drew Beringer on 01/17/14 - 04:47 AM
"Like two strangers, turning into dust."
Staff ReviewsBruce Springsteen - High Hopes (Craig Manning)
Switchfoot - Fading West (Craig Manning)
Neck Deep - Wishful Thinking (Blake Solomon)
Craig Manning on 01/14/14 - 06:13 AM
"On the ground dog tags and wreaths of flowers, with the ribbons red as the blood."
Staff ReviewsBruce Springsteen - High Hopes (Craig Manning)
Monks of Mellonwah - Turn the People (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 01/13/14 - 06:08 AM
This moment is so chill and lacking drama that I want to call it Tim Duncan.
Staff ReviewsSelf Defense Family - Try Me (Drew Beringer)
Umbrella Bed - Refill (Craig Manning)
Steff and the Articles - Why it Was So EP (Gregory Robson)
Drew Beringer on 01/08/14 - 02:57 AM
Ryan Gardner on 01/06/14 - 09:47 AM
She said "this is just a bad dream, everybody wake up soon, we'll tie our red balloons to my car roof. Friction in your head, friction in mine; I still remember his eyes on mine".
Staff ReviewsFoxing - The Albatross (Kelly Doherty)
Silent Planet - lastsleep (1944 - 1946) (Steve Alcala)
Show ReviewsBayside, Man Overboard, Banquets, Modern Baseball - Boston, MA (Alex DiVincenzo)
Kelly Doherty on 01/02/14 - 06:04 AM
Read my review of Bayside's December 29th holiday show in Boston, MA with Man Overboard, Banquets and Modern Baseball.
Bayside have a huge year ahead of them, with the release of Cult on February 18th and a headlining tour kicking off in March, so it only made sense for them to end 2013 in a big way. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better way to end the year than watching Bayside rock a sold out crowd with a great line-up in tow.
Alex DiVincenzo on 12/31/13 - 09:00 AM
"Let's take another trip around the sun."
Staff ReviewsChuckie Campbell - More Die of Heartbreak (Craig Manning)
The Republic of Wolves - No Matter How Narrow (Zac Djamoos)
Lights and Motion - Reanimation (Sean Rizzo)
Lights and Motion - Save Your Heart (Sean Rizzo)
Craig Manning on 12/30/13 - 08:03 AM
Check the replies for the most recent user reviews.
Anthony Sorendino on 12/30/13 - 06:11 AM
All the very best of us string ourselves up for love.
ReviewsOur Sunday Affairs - Cave (Kelly Doherty)
Heidi Howe - Be Good (Craig Manning)
City Lights - The Way Things Should Be (Zac Djamoos)
Kelly Doherty on 12/20/13 - 05:33 AM
“You can’t just pick and choose which laws to follow. Sure I’d like to tape a baseball game without the express written consent of major league baseball, but that’s just not the way it works.”
Show ReviewsSwitchfoot - Newburg, OR (Jake Denning)
Trash Talk/Terror/Suicidal Tendencies - Portland, OR (Jake Denning)
Jake Denning on 12/19/13 - 12:43 PM
"Drink my heart, it always possessed you"
Staff ReviewsBurial - Rival Dealer (Jake Jenkins)
Jake Jenkins on 12/18/13 - 12:37 AM
Check the replies for the most recent user reviews.
Anthony Sorendino on 12/16/13 - 10:12 AM
Or bow down and be grateful and say "sure, take all that you see"
To the men who move only in dimly-lit halls and determine my future for me.
Staff ReviewsNew Mongrels - Raised Incorruptible (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 12/13/13 - 06:39 AM
"I'll endure the night for the promise of light."
Staff ReviewsRussian Circles - Memorial (Jake Jenkins)
Jake Jenkins on 12/05/13 - 11:43 PM
So I prayed to what I thought were angels, ended up being ambulances.
Album ReviewsThere Will Be Fireworks - The Dark, Dark Bright (Zac Djamoos)
Zac Djamoos on 11/27/13 - 07:03 AM
In the middle of the riot, I had one thing on my mind. Lets talk about it.
Show ReviewLamb of God, Killswitch Engage, Testament, Huntress - Boston MA [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Alex DiVincenzo on 11/26/13 - 06:12 AM
Check the replies for the user reviews that have been submitted recently.
Anthony Sorendino on 11/25/13 - 08:17 AM
Be the freak you wanna see.
Staff ReviewsDeath Grips - Government Plates (Jake Jenkins)
Bright Eyes - A Christmas Album (Kelly Doherty)
Jake Jenkins on 11/24/13 - 10:54 PM
I hope you've made peace with your God, small electronic deer.
Staff ReviewsPolar Bear Club - Death Chorus (Drew Beringer)
Mansions - Doom Loop (Blake Solomon)
July - What We Signed Up For (Ryan Gardner)
So Many Ways - Seer EP (Ryan Gardner)
Drew Beringer on 11/19/13 - 01:40 AM
Read my review of the Boston. MA stop of New Found Glory and Alkaline Trio'sl co-headlining tour with H2O. You can also check out some photos from the event.
New Found Glory and Alkaline Trio's co-headlining tour is a proud display of the bands' staying power. The pair first toured together back in 1999 (alongside Face to Face and Saves the Day!). Although they've both grown a lot since then, they maintain the same youthful ferocity and passion. Along with H2O, the three groups have maintained their line-ups for years while continuing to satisfy their dedicated fan bases without any signs of slowing down, making this tour a great celebration of of unity and longevity.
Alex DiVincenzo on 11/15/13 - 04:05 PM
I had a line to remember and I wrote it in the sand. Tried to go get it but the tide swooned.
Show ReviewsNew Found Glory, Alkaline Trio, H2O - Boston, MA [Photos] (Alex DiVincenzo)
Alex DiVincenzo on 11/15/13 - 08:14 AM
Read our write-up of the November 10th Austin stop of the Lydia tour with From Indian Lakes.
With From Indian Lakes having even more energy and emphasis live than on record and Lydia having a more upbeat atmosphere than normal, this show was definitely a memorable one. If you haven’t seen Lydia since Devil came out, I highly recommend trying to catch them soon, as the songs carry over quite well to the live setting – sing-alongs, people. I’m sure seeing the duo with The Maine and Anberlin was fantastic, but I was quite happy to be able to catch the two on their last night out following that tour.
Ryan Gardner on 11/14/13 - 02:00 PM
I think we were made too pretty.
Show ReviewsLydia with From Indian Lakes - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Ryan Gardner on 11/14/13 - 08:19 AM
"I've been fighting second gear for 15 miles or so, trying to beat the angry snow."
Staff ReviewsRyan Hemsworth - Guilt Trips (Ryan Dennehy)
Jason Isbell - Southeastern (Craig Manning)
Avril Lavigne - Avril Lavigne (Craig Manning)
Blood Orange - Cupid Deluxe (Ryan Dennehy)
Carbon Tigers - The Wars at Home EP (Gregory Robson)
Craig Manning on 11/12/13 - 05:48 AM
"While everyone's lost, the battle is won with all these things that I've done."
Staff ReviewsThe Killers - Direct Hits (Craig Manning)
Scholar - Choose Adventure (Zac Djamoos)
Divided By Friday - Modern Memoirs EP (Gregory Robson)
P.J. Pacifico - Overlooking the Obvious EP (Gregory Robson)
Brother Dege - How to Kill a Horse (Gregory Robson)
Stoney - More Than Animals (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 11/11/13 - 06:03 AM
Annie Clark (St. Vincent) recently reviewed Arcade Fire's latest album, Reflektor, for The Talkhouse - the same site that featured the late Lou Reed raving over Yeezus and Ezra Koenig's (Vampire Weekend) goofy take on Nothing Was The Same.
The Arcade Fire have released an album that elucidates our constant psychic vacillation between uber-connection and utter disconnection. They ask you to be aware of your fractured attention span/psyche/in touch with your humanity. Arcade Fire so mercifully avoid the Nuremberg-rock cliches ("Hey!") in favor of sleaze, anxiety, and pathos that you can dance to.
Drew Beringer on 11/07/13 - 07:51 PM
I'm just rotating my tires.
Staff ReviewsM.I.A. - Matangi (Jake Jenkins)
InterviewsMatthew Healy of The 1975
Jake Jenkins on 11/07/13 - 10:07 AM
Guns go off when I enter the building.
Staff ReviewsHellogoodbye - Everything Is Debatable (Drew Beringer)
Sainthood Reps - Headswell (Drew Beringer)
AFI - Burials (Zac Djamoos)
Army of Me - Searching For You (Gregory Robson)
Drew Beringer on 11/06/13 - 03:40 AM
Started at the bottom then she rolled on top (hahaha).
Staff ReviewsEminem - The Marshall Mathers LP 2 (Ryan Dennehy)
The Tomás Doncker Band - Power of the Trinity​.​.​.​A Slight Return (Craig Manning)
Ryan Dennehy on 11/04/13 - 10:02 PM
Is it true they say you and me are tautology?
Staff ReviewsLos Campesinos! - No Blues (Chris Collum)
Staff InterviewsLess Than Jake (Deborah Remus)
Chris Collum on 10/29/13 - 11:16 PM
Why'd I take so long to break these chains around me?
Staff ReviewsA Wilhelm Scream - Partycrasher (Scott Weber)
Scott Weber on 10/29/13 - 08:04 AM
And after all this time, and after all the ambulances go. And after all the hangers-on are done hanging on to the dead light of the afterglow. I've gotta know, can we work it out?
Staff ReviewsArcade Fire - Reflektor (Kelly Doherty)
Katy Perry - Prism (Craig Manning)
Darkside - Psychic (Jake Jenkins)
Ed Kowalcyzk - The Flood and the Mercy (Gregory Robson)
Basic Vacation - Basic Vacation EP (Gregory Robson)
Avalon Landing - Reside (Gregory Robson)
Norine Braun - Conventus The Eye of the Heart (Craig Manning)
Kelly Doherty on 10/28/13 - 05:34 AM
Check the replies for all of the user reviews submitted recently.
Anthony Sorendino on 10/23/13 - 08:04 PM
Read our write-up of the October 18th Austin stop of the AFI tour with Touché Amoré.
Looking back on AFI’s now 9 albums and I believe 10 EPs, it’s no wonder they have such a legacy. The new Burials is a solid album, proving they haven’t lost any part of their touch along the way. Not only have they experimented with their sound throughout each record, they have managed to keep quite a strong core fan base over the course of 20 years. That alone is something to be said, and this sold out show proved just that.
Ryan Gardner on 10/22/13 - 03:49 PM
Read my review of the Worcester, MA stop of Danzig's 25th Anniversary Tour, which featured a portion of Misfits songs with guitarist Doyle.
The crowd clearly loved every second of it, as this portion of the set garnered the loudest singalongs, the biggest circle pits and the most crowd surfers of the night. Danzig seemed to feed off the audience's enthusiasm, even going on the barricade to sing along with fans a few times. Doyle is an absolute beast, physically wailing on guitar harder than anyone I've ever seen. The songs may be 30 years old, but their unrelenting energy is timeless.
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/13 - 03:21 PM
We don't take to compliments, but please don't stop.
Album ReviewsPentimento - Inside The Sea EP (Ryan Gardner)
Show ReviewsDanzig 25th Anniversary Tour w/ Doyle - Boston, MA (Alex DiVincenzo)
AFI with Touché Amoré - Austin, TX (Ryan Gardner)
Alex DiVincenzo on 10/22/13 - 06:08 AM
"I need the darkness, someone please cut the lights."
Staff ReviewsPearl Jam - Lightning Bolt (Craig Manning)
Into It. Over It. - Intersections (Blake Solomon)
Craig Manning on 10/21/13 - 07:18 AM
"A distant laughter with the ever after."
Staff ReviewsMonks of Mellonwah - Afraid to Die (Craig Manning)
TRC - Nation (Jake Denning)
Craig Manning on 10/17/13 - 06:47 AM
I say “Hold up wait a minute” - Your career ain’t shit less you got some Kendrick in it.
Staff ReviewsFour Tet - Beautiful Rewind (Ryan Dennehy)
Seaway - Hoser (Zac Djamoos)
Tim Hecker - Virgins (Jake Jenkins)
Ryan Dennehy on 10/16/13 - 06:14 AM
"Sing along with the common people."
Staff ReviewsPusha T - My Name Is My Name (Jake Jenkins)
Will Hoge - Never Give In (Craig Manning)
Kevin Devine - Bulldozer (Ryan Dennehy)
Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band - Bubblegum (Drew Beringer)
MiniBoone - MiniBoone (Gregory Robson)
Day At The Fair - The Rocking Chair Years (Alex DiVincenzo)
Emily Kopp - Serendipity Find Me (Gregory Robson)
MiXE1 - Lights Out (Craig Manning)
Craig Manning on 10/15/13 - 06:00 AM


Tomorrow, one of our very favorite artists, Kevin Devine will release two new albums and we're celebrating both releases throughout the week. Today, you can check out our reviews of Bulldozer (from Ryan Dennehy) and Bubblegum (from yours truly). Tomorrow, you're supposed to pick up both albums. On Wednesday, we'll have a special "The Countdown" feature about Devine's fantastic discography and Friday will hold the latest AbsolutePunk.net Podcast episode with Kevin. For now though, stream the new albums and check out the two reviews and leave your thoughts and comments there.
Drew Beringer on 10/14/13 - 12:30 PM
Shut your kind of pretty mouth and eat a mustard cookie!
Staff ReviewsKevin Devine - Bulldozer (Ryan Dennehy)
Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band - Bubblegum (Drew Beringer)
Save Your Breath - There Used To Be A Place For Us (Zac Djamoos)
Staff InterviewsBlink-182 (Jonathan Bautts)
Drew Beringer on 10/14/13 - 03:01 AM
Search The News

NEWS, MUSIC & MORE
Search News
Release Dates
Exclusives
Best New Music
Submit News
CONNECT
Forums
Contests
RSS
Mobile Version
Banners, Flyers, Widgets
HIDDEN TREASURES
Free Music
Video News
Sports Forum
AP.net Related News
Recommendations
INFORMATION
FAQ
Contact Us
Copyright Policy
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
FOLLOW
Twitter | Facebook
PropertyOfZack
PunkNews.org
UnderTheGun
Chorus.fm